We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Malthouse to your Saves list
The Malthouse
The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not what you would expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent 3 days in The Malthouse in July. The decoration is the first thing you will notice when you walk in as it is not what you would expect in a little village! The Malthouse offers something for everyone. The food is superb (make sure you try and white chocolate and strawberry cheesecake) with plenty of choice and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the decor is absolutely fantastic. If you are after live music then Fri and Sat nights are for you.

On the downside we were initially booked into the Loft room which does not have a window or a shower and does tend to be rather warm. We then moved to the Jade room which was great but when you read that it can be noisy on a Fri and Sat it means NOISY, the band may as well be in your room! However, this is well documented and not a problem if you join in or there are other rooms that are quieter.

Room Tip: The Loft room would be great in Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    24
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
98
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse suite, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a kitchen, which is great for a family, or two couples. The suite is in a separate building with a delightful with a view of the river, the decor is very bold and colourful but works! One of the bathrooms has a shower attachment to the bath, but you can only use it as a sit down shower. There were two flights of stairs to the apartment and the apartment has a spiral staircase to the second ensuite bedroom, so you have to be able to cope with the stairs. The Malthouse is in a good location for exploring the Ironbridge area and there is parking at the pub. The food in the restaurant was very good and our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A refreshing change..... The decor is not what you expect however its quirky and certainly retains its character.. The food is good value and served well, The menu is creative and in no way run of the mill pub food..
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We've just come home after a 3 night stay here.
We had 2 rooms (the Chocolate & Rock Suite) with our own private courtyard.
Rooms a decent size, comfortable, clean, good amenities, though I would've preferred a bath but all in all very adequate. Room decor was loud, fun and a bit different.
Value for money not too bad, breakfast was included and was delicious, freshly cooked and good portion sizes. We did have lunch there and an evening meal, both of good quality and their chips are amazing.
Great location. Can be a bit noisy on a Friday night but we knew this in advance so not a problem.
Friendly owner (Gaynor I think), I would recommend to others. Can't fault a thing. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse room which is in a separated adjacent to the pub/restaurant. It is a spacious duplex that has been elegantly styled and well equipped (it’s a lot better than the website photos suggest). The main drawback was the lack of a shower in either of the bathrooms. The breakfast was freshly cooked and of a good quality. I would have rated the hotel as excellent if it were not for the noise from the outside seating area of the pub which went on until the early hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been coming here for years!nearly always busy and a bit different!,always good food and believe me as I've tried most of it,big range of beers and wines,prices seem normal,always a laugh!!LIVE music weekends,no charge to get in,ok there is doormen on but they're pretty friendly and do keep the idiots out!.Thanks Malthouse,see you when I'm back off holiday!Big Mac.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at The Malthouse last night for my partners 50th birthday and what an amazing time we had. We enquired a few weeks earlier about having a small get together with friends and Gaynor the landlady was more than helpful and suggested myself and my partner stay over and we're so glad we did (but more of that in a mo!). Gaynor kindly offered us the sole use of a seated area at the rear of the bar and also an outside decking area. When we arrived to check in yesterday we were greeted by the usual warm greeting from Gaynor and the bar staff, we had pre-booked a table as we'd decided to have a meal before our guests arrived, when we were shown to our table it had been decorated with a 50 balloon and decorations! We both had sunday lunch which was gorgeous (been before and every time the food is delicious and served beautifully). After dinner we were shown to our room by Gaynor, which was the Gold Room but I like to call it the "Marilyn Room". The room was just amazing! If you're looking for Travelodge blandness then I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed! The walls are gold with a hint of pink and black furnishings. The bed was so comfy and we both had a fab nights sleep, there is a lovely free-standing bath (which sadly we didn't get time to try out) and also a lovely powerful shower. The Gold Room also has double doors that open to give views up the Wharfage and over the River. After getting changed and showered we returned back to the bar for the party and the tables had been decorated by the staff and there were even balloons up (all of which Gaynor and the staff had taken on themselves to do) it really was lovely and my partner was so emotional. Everyone had a lovely time and it was really kind of Gaynor to do all of this for us.
We first went to The Malthouse back in 2010 when we were looking for a venue to have a meal after our Civil Partnership. We had visited other pubs and restaurants and did have somewhere in mind but as soon as we walked in we knew we wanted it at the Malthouse. We explained we just wanted a table for a few people and she was so enthusiastic and excited for us. When the day arrived we were blown away with the table decorations and balloons and it just made the day extra special for us. We have been back many times between 2010 and yesterday and everytime we have experienced excellent service, polite, courteous staff (nothing is too much trouble for them).
If you're looking for bland food, served in a bland pub then, no, The Malthouse is probably not for you. The Malthouse is an original pub, wickedly decorated and run by a fun, positive lady and I love it!

Room Tip: There are plenty of photos on their website of the rooms or if you're feeling adventurous ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.