We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working in Ironbridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Malthouse to your Saves list
The Malthouse
The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Working in Ironbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Whilst working in Ironbridge I stayed at The Malthouse on The Wharfage.
I really enjoyed my stay and the locals/staff were all friendly and went out of their way to accomodate myself. Food was excelent and beers at the bar were great.

Room Tip: The annex has great suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    24
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
98
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for one night in two rooms as part of a group of four adults. The rooms are wickedly funny, loved the Gold room. It had faux crocodile wall paper, diamante studded headboard, black ostrich feathers, a bath in the bedroom and images of marilyn monroe, The garden room had access to a first floor garden. Staff were helpful and the bar was buzzing.

Room Tip: Gold room has views over the River. Annexe rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I enjoyed a 3 night stay in 'The Red' Room (Jonny on the Wall). Fantastical fun décor ! I ate in the restaurant every night and it was buzzing, good local live music was played on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday night which I really enjoyed. Breakfast was good too and all the staff that I met were very welcoming and friendly. I will always return to the Malthouse - Ironbridge’s BEST and most enlightening accommodation and entertainment venue.

Room Tip: The Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a 1 night stay in 'The Loft' Room. Fantasticlt fun decor! We ate in the reastaurant on a Sunday evening and it was buzzing an busy, it became clear why.delicious food.
Breakfast was good too and all the staff that we met were welcoming and freindly. We will return for future business trips or just for fun.

Room Tip: The Loft was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A welcoming atmosphere from a great bunch of professional, courteous, warm and friendly staff. Awesome food and great beer. Warm quiet and comfortable rooms with truly amazing decor and comfy beds. Will return many times!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We moved over to the outskirts of Telford in the summer of 2012, and found ourselves with Ironbridge just a few minutes down the road. Having visited Ironbridge many times in the past, it was felt that it was about time we got to know it better, starting with the pubs / eateries in the area.
We have always found The Malthouse to be absolutely spot on... We have eaten here on a good many occasions now, and can honestly say we have never had anything other than a really good meal.
The decor is quirky to say the least, bright scarlet and zebra stripes with glitter mirrors and antique furniture really shouldn't work, but it really does, and it all adds to the ambience of the place.
The menu is not huge, but is well supplemented by a specials board that takes in some damn fine food (fillet steak medallions wrapped in parma ham...yum) and is well supported by some really good wines and excellent cask ales, including the local brewery's output.
The staff have never been anything but polite and attentive without being obtrusive, and nothing has ever been too much trouble for them.
I would not hesitate to recommend The Malthouse to anyone, it's just a great place to go and eat, drink and be merry...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

popped in for evening meal and couldnt complain about a thing. good choice on the menu and the taste was excellent. staff were very friendly and when i asked if i could have a starter bought out with the mains as one of us wasnt a big eater they agreed to do it. would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.