We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Malthouse to your Saves list
The Malthouse
The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Llanrwst, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night. Were warned in advance it was a live music venue and it was loud!
However, the food in the restaurant was superb. The hotel situated just yards from Telfords bridge, which made a lovely post dinner romantic stroll. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    24
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
98
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
haslingden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just had a two night stay at the malthouse on arriving there we were told there was a problem with the cottage we had booked so they had sorted out room for us
As we had to wait for the rooms the manager made us feel welcome supplied a complementary drink for our party
We were then shown to the room well what I can say we were in the pink room the room where clean and tidy all round on the room fantastic
We booked a table for our meal at the night the food was 100%
We didn’t even look for the night after just booked a table and again the food was 100%
Top class breakfast with plenty of choice
Good bands great location
The staff where very helpful and made you feel welcome
great value for money
The other couple we went with where blown away with the malthouse and ironbridge
We had a great time and we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just stayed for two nights at this perfect little hotel. Staff were very friendly and accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. We had the pink room and the chocolate room, both were fantastically decorated and really very quirky. If you are looking for somewhere a little different then this is the place to go. Its in a great location overlooking the river and there are shops and a few other pubs within a few minutes walk. Breakfast was delicious. We ate in the hotel on both nights we were there and it was 10/10. Great food, great service, nice friendly staff, beautiful rooms and very clean.... what more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a wonderful meal and evening at The Malthouse this evening with friends. Sat outside as it was still a lovely evening, enjoyed a drink followed by very good value for money meals - I had scampi which was divine, however the meals my friends had looked equally delicious Cod, Chips & Peas and Chicken Leek and Mushroom Pie. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was lively. Car park is small but there is a large car park nearby which is free after 5pm. If I didn't live locally, I would definitely like to stay here. PS The chips here are just so delicious, and do not taste at all fattening! Bottle of house white was around £14 - £15. The River Severn runs just over the road, beautiful setting, try it, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

just stayed here with my boyf and it was a delight. Stayed in the Garden Suite, which was huge, with its very own private garden. Fabulous touch, and much needed as it was lovely hot sunny day. The decor was exquisite. and both bedroom and bathroom were absolutely spotless. Bathroom has beautiful stand alone bath with seperate shower, and temperature of room perfect. The bed was probably the comfiest I have ever slept it...
The staff were friendly and service impeccable, down to making sure I was able to park on the forecourt by staff moving their vehicles. very impressive.
If I had a couple of very minor criticisms, they are that I wouldve liked to have seen a full english veggie breakfast on the menu, and although we had copious amounts of tea and coffee in the bedroom, there was no water, which I feel should be a given especially in summer months.
Having said all that, we loved it and will return, Super rate for the suite given its summer and Ironbridge is teaming with tourists, and superb location. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had a one night stay at the Malthouse, Ironbridge in the Gold Suite. We would really recommend it. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and it was super clean.Loved the quirky decor too! It was lovely to lie in bed in the morning and open our balcony window and see the River Severn flowing past. The food was good and the staff friendly and helpful. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was in a good location. The rooms are pleasant and the beds are very comfy.The walls between the rooms are very thin and as the people in the next room to us had noisy kids this was a little annoying. The bathroom was very nice and the shower was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.