We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting day out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blists Hill Victorian Town

Blists Hill Victorian Town
Legges Way, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF7 5DU, England
01952 433424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Ironbridge
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reconstructed Victorian mining town is one of the best of its kind in England.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting day out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were a bit dubious having read reviews saying Blists Hill was over-priced, but we found it to be well worth the cost. We paid for an Ironbridge Passport enabling us visit all the attractions/museums for a year. Blists Hill was so informative, the staff there were knowledgeable about their subject and took time to speak to all comers and explain and answer questions. We enjoyed changing our money for pennies and farthings etc which was a learning experience in itself! Despite the drizzle we thoroughly enjoyed around 4 hours of wandering around and had a lovely cup of tea. Only the food seemed a bit pricey so we decided to eat elsewhere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    294
    70
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

loved the fact the villagers knew their stuff! So interesting, and everyone was so enthusiastic. We will be coming back soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went in late December, just after Christmas. It cost us the full £63 for the four of us to get in. We were very dissappointed by our experience. many of the exhibits were closed! Those that were open were only interested in SELLING, they offered nothing as acting out in character, we were led to believe that we would be 'stepping back in time'. Unfortunately the desire to SELL SELL SELL had taken priority. The best parts were the sing along in the pub and chapel - brilliantly entertaining, the school house was ok, but unfortunately not as good as the now closed Wigan Pier school house and the Printing Shop where the Master Printer was excellent.
We complained to management, but we were fobbed off with a free re-visit and photo. We felt that we should at least have been offered our entrance fee back but NO CHANCE. They were not bothered that we had wasted the cost of fuel for a 200 mile round trip plus an overnight stay. They couldn't care less, they had got our money. For a far more authentic Victorian experience vist Beamish in the North east, they reduce charges in winter to reflect shortened day and reduced exhibits, Blists Hill does not.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

very cheap for souviners, bread, sweets and chips made the victorian way, also iron castings can be purchased form the foundry or gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The time flew past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We didn't have time to visit this attraction on our first trip to Ironbridge, but when Groupon offered a VIP passport deal I bought it as the foundation of our return visit. We used it today, and even on a dull damp day in February, out of season, we had a fantastic time. Having the "inhabitants" there in almost every shop and workshop, dressed in period costume and happy to talk to visitors about their jobs and what life was like, makes this so much more than a museum. And being encouraged to change some of our modern money into old shillings and pence to spend in the shops was a brilliant piece of marketing. After the initial feeling of weirdness, we soon felt entirely at ease chatting to the Victorian draper, the post office clerk, the bakery assistant and the cottagers. Then we felt less at ease and more like naughty children when we took part in a lesson at the Victorian school - chanting the times table had us straight back to our own schooldays, but it was hard to shake the feeling that we were back in an age where corporal punishment was still a normal part of life. Heaven knows what the modern day kids made of it all, writing on slates and being ordered to sit up straight, and no left handed writing allowed!
We had our photo taken in Victorian costumes, very entertaining, and now at least I know why no one was ever smiling in the old family photos. No one is ever seeing mine, that's sure, but it was fun to do. Then we had fish and chips from the fish shop, cooked the old fashioned way, and they were so delicious I tried not to think about saturated fat while I scoffed them. I decided to pass up the chance of a bag of pork scratchings from the pie shop, my arteries had suffered enough for one day.
We spent a long time chatting to the foundry man and watching him preparing the moulds out of black sand, ready for casting into boot scrapers and door stops, bottle openers and souvenirs. It would be interesting to go back on a Wednesday and watch the process when two of them run the molten iron into the moulds.
We also met a beautiful horse in his stable, a couple of pigs in the yard of the candle maker's house, and a few chickens in their run outside the doctor's surgery. I don't think any of them realized they were meant to be Victorian working animals earning their keep.
We did what felt like a lot of walking, but according to the map of the site we hadn't seen everything - there was still the Hay inclined plain that was used to lift the canal boats up the steep gradient, and the miners walk through the woods. Still, that was why we had an annual passport, it might seem expensive at first but it's actually good value, so we can come back whenever we like. We left feeling tired but satisfied that we'd had a very enjoyable day. We will return!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blists Hill Victorian Town also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Blists Hill Victorian Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blists Hill Victorian Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.