We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth making the effort to get to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'arcys at the station

D'arcys at the station
Ladywood, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7JU , England
01952 88 44 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oxon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth making the effort to get to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a visit with relatives for a family birthday - someone particularly interested in heritage trains, old stations and good food. Ironbridge is a wonderful area for retracing our industrial past and we enjoyed the day, despite the rain. The restaurant was to top off the day in an appropriate location - the former station. We were so glad we chooose D'arcys; its essential to book, either the 6.00 sitting or the 8.00 in order to get in, its popularity has spread and quite rightly so. This felt more like a real continental restaurant to us, a smallish but intriguing menu and a few specialities on the day. Everything was very tasty, full of flavour and lots of it. For veggies, the Moroccan vegetable pie with cashew nuts and chick peas was a very welcome change and truely vegetarian food compared to most dishes which just remove the meat or fish element. The others enjoyed their chicken in different varieties, all saying how good it was. We had starters, but to be honest, the mains came each with its own salad bowl as well pasta (granted a small amount) and saute potatoes, so we really didn't need it. Neither did we have room for desserts. The proportions are so generous that they seem to be doing themselves out of a few courses, unless you have giant appetites, I would suggest they stick to either potatoes or pasta maybe or ask which you prefer. This is hardly a gripe and I suppose part of the very efficient running of the place (and it is) comes from restricting some choices in this way, a la continental dining places again. The coffee we ended with was very good quality and came with an amaretto biscuit, much appreciated if you don't have dessert, but just want a sweet note with the coffee - it came beautifully served too. All in all, we would heavily recommend D'arcys and advise you book as early as possible. If you go for the 6o'clock sitting, get there beforehand, there was a rush to get to table as the doors opened at 6.oo, so keen was everyone to get in and get served!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    28
    16
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Disappointing and a bit odd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a restaurant of contrasts. We went on the basis of recommendations that the D'Arcy's in Shifnal was very good. We arrived and were seated initially in a small waiting area. Nice old church benches, restored stone walls, large old fireplace and sticking out like a sore thumb, the tackiest, modern red, plasticky looking fake fire. We were then seated, given menu's and left for 20 minutes to consider our choices. After twenty minutes, we were ready to order, but the waitress was only ready to take our drink order, but reassured us "I will be right back to take your food order". Right back at D'Arcy's is another 20 minutes. So we order. Long wait, allowing time to consider the quirky and eclectic decor...then the First course was fine... mushrooms with crab and goats cheese.. a funny combination but tasty. Tinned tomatoes with mussels and chorizo...also acceptable. Another very long wait and the main comes along. The Morroccan Lamb mirrors the odd mix evident in the decor... a very generous and tasty portion of 5 lamb chops in Morroccan seasoning, set on a bed of pasta and fried potatoes (definitively previously frozen). Morrocco, via Italy and on to Ireland. Would have been so much better on some Cous-Cous with peppers. The seafood pasta I ordered was the basic tomato sauce that is used for pratically every meal, with bits of mussels, prawns and fish thrown in. It was acceptable, but not accomplished cooking. The service is painfully slow and punctuated by the Manager "training" the clearly inexperienced waitress in a way which was unduly aggressive and uncomfortable. We are approaching the 2 hour mark, and the restaurant is getting colder... and upon checking we know why... the radiators had been switched off. Another very long wait and our plates are cleared, but no offer of the dessert menu. After 15 minutes, I got the attention of the harrassed young waitress and she promptly brought them to us. Another long wait, order and finally we get our dessert. The dessert was fine, although we asked for coffee with the desserts, but this failed to materialise. Eventually, the waitress asked if the dessert was finished and was told, "No, we are waiting for the coffees"... but it still took another 5 minutes for so.

This place hasn't come together. Perhaps it is teething problems, but there are a number of problems. The wait staff are friendly and nice, but it is inefficient. The Manager stands behind the bar surveying his empire, but appears to do little to help even when it is clear to two waitresses are overwhelmed. The food is generously portioned, but lacks imagination and flair... the price is ok for what you receive. This could be so much better, it is not a disaster, but has much scope for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having visited D'arcys many times in Shifnal, this was our first visit to Ironbridge. The meals and service was good although as we were there at 6 and it was a cool night the room was a little cold with the ladies having to eat with their coats on. All of the food was enjoyable and well presented. We felt that although the atmosphere was nice it wasn't as good as Shifnal think this is due to the layout of the room and size. Would like to go again on a warm summer night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely evening for a girls night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Darcy's since their move from Ironbridge and we weren't disappointed. We enjoyed the mid week set menu which was excellent value for £13 for 2 courses, £15 for 3. Portions were generous in size and the food beautiful. Nice touch that they serve complimentary bread on the table.

It's also good that you can now book a table. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed and the restaurant was fairly busy for a mid week evening, but we didn't have to wait long for our food.

Great night had by all!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having been to Darcys in Shifnal many times before and throughyl enjoying it, I decided for my Birthday I'd take my family to try, boy how I was wrong!
Having rang and tried to book, it was noted that they still didnt tske bookings so we crossed our fingers and went to try.
When we walked in we was greeted by a lady who was very pleasant and asked to take a seat (we had my five year old very well behaved daughter with us)
Then a guy marched over and sated very bruntly that they didnt do tables of 7 especially seeing that it was a child, he then went on to explain in a far from professional manner that they didnt have a licence for children under 10 and how he found it very starnge but the reason being that he couldnt supply changing facilties.... and continued to talk and make up reasons!

The thing was he was talkig to three Licencees who believe it or not know the rules and regulations about this trade! I can understand they dont want children ruining there 'ambience' but why not say!?

One thing I always prided Darcys on was their ability to make people feel welcome, their warm nature and great food! however I will never return!

Ps the bigger venue has definitely spoilt the character you once had at Shifnal!

So all in all I would not recommend this to families!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'arcys at the station also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to D'arcys at the station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'arcys at the station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.