We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very homely B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ironbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Library House
11 Severn Bank | Telford, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Weston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very homely B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A small but very interesting B&B tucked away in scenic Ironbridge. Very comfortable room and bathroom, no bath just a shower which was adequate. A very attentive host who seemed to do everything on her own. For a stay in beautiful Ironbridge this is a good place to stay.

If you visit Ironbridge a visit to the Deli Dale cafe is a must only a short walk away from the Library House.

Room Tip: The Milton is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
110
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I read the reviews for Library House and I was not disappointed. The house is beautiful; decorated with impecable taste. I had the Milton Room which was spacious and comfortable, it had a TV, kettle and nice selection of beverages. The bathroom had a great shower, nice towels and robes. The room has a decent hair dryer. My friend had the Chaucer Room which has a terrace out on the lovely tiered garden, it's a smaller room but the terrace was a real bonus in the heatwave.
Breakfast has a great selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals and cooked options; which were all good quality.
The location is great, it's near the bridge and just a short walk to all the restaurants, etc. Ironbridge is only small but there is a good selection.
It's hard to spot as it's along a pretty alley. Look out for 'Thai Fusion' and 'Bonnies' one side and Dalingtons gift shop on the other. Parking is tricky try not to stop right on the bend. Liz will then guide you to proper places.
We received a warm welcome, the atmosphere was relaxed and Liz is very friendly. Hotels use 'guest' as a euphanism for customer, but here I really felt like a guest!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a seven day stay in Ironbridge at The Library House. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. From start to finish our stay was relaxing and very enjoyable. We stayed in the Chaucer room, and while it is very small, you have a beautiful private terrace to enjoy, with an occasional visit from Fizz, the resident dog. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, which was not only delicious, but very healthy! The Library house is very well centrally located within a short walk to local restaurants and pubs, as well as local sites. Liz is a delight, and we wholeheartedly recommend staying at The Library House if you are ever in Ironbridge!

Room Tip: The Chaucer room is small, but you have the added space of the private terrace to enjoy if the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent a very happy two nights at the Library House, in a comfortable and well equipped room. The welcome was warm and friendly, and the glass of wine a nice gesture after a rather trying arrival via the M1and a slight difficulty in locating the house, which is only really visible if approaching from the east. Nothing seemed too much trouble, including the offer to dry a small amount of washing for us - particularly helpful as our stay was part of a much longer journey. The whole house is furnished with taste and elegance, but in a very comfortable and individual style. Breakfast were delicious with a good choice of food and careful attention to offering some healthy but delicious choices. It is worth being aware that, given the excellent location of the house on the main street almost opposite the bridge, parking is only available in the car parks (using token provided), but there is a small space to pull in and unload luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kent coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

In my humble opinion, if you are planning a stay in Ironbridge and wish to explore this fascinating area, then The Library House is perfect, both for location and atmosphere. Liz was the perfect host with nothing being too much trouble (even when missing a side plate...sorry Liz!). We had the smallest room but it had the added bonus of direct access to the garden. The room was comfortable, clean and relaxing, as was the breakfast room....and what a breakfast!!!
Set in the heart of town within a stones throw of the river and the 'Ironbridge', and, if you feel so inclined as we did, easy walking distance to all the museums and attractions the gorge has to offer. Liz gave us a parking permit, so we left the car alone for the duration of our stay which gave us the option of having the odd drink or two with lunch or dinner in the many pubs dotted along the rivers bank. Thanks again Liz, will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our arrival was greeted with a glass of wine which went down well. We had a lovely terrace garden which on a fine day would be ideal for chilling out. We did grab a few hours reading out there together with being able to smoke outside on the terrace with a coffee in the morning. Breakfasts were extra special and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at the Library House. My husband and I had a fabulous stay and even though the weather was not on our side, the warmth and helpfulness shown by Liz certainly helped make up for it.

I would recommend this fine establishment to anyone exploring the Ironbridge area. The rooms were very comfortable and the hearty breakfasts helped fuel the day's activities.

Would recommend parking in the long stay parking lot on the other side of the bridge. Much easier than finding a spot in town.

Thank you again Liz for your warm welcome. Love your dog too...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Library House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library House

Address: 11 Severn Bank | Telford, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Library House to your Saves list