We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded my expectation based on other reviews.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“exceeded my expectation based on other reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights on a DBB basis with my wife, attending an old school chums get together; in total about thirty of us. As far as I can say, everyone thought it was great value for money. The service and friendly helpful approach of all staff members was beyond reproach. Breakfast and dinner quality and service were all of a high standard considering the charges, with no complaints from anyone.

I believe that most of us stayed in rooms in the original part of the hotel. Whilst not de Lux, they were more than adequate for our desires and needs, clean, everything worked and endless hot water. Chamber maid service was good. If I had to make a small grumble it would be the bed! There was nothing wrong in term of quality, only that it was a 'Queen' double and a little short for me. No problem for 97% of quests but being well over average height and an arm length that would normally be akin to the wing of a modern jet, it was a bit small for me. However by the third night I had adapted.

I have to say that the Hotel looked after our large party very well and provided all the facilities, including a private room for our Gala dinner night, attended to our every request very promptly without a hint of petulance. we were so impressed we had a collection for a large 'staff tip'.

The location of the hotel is good by not being in the exact center of Ironbridge and having a very pleasant outlook at the rear, close to the river. It's an easy walk to many of the attractions. There is a large car park on the hotel site.

The reception staff were all very helpful, interested, accommodating and provided local info in a personal manner. We had actually booked for four nights but as the weather was so dire we asked if we gould leave a day early. They kindly agreed without any charge or fuss. Well done. As a result of the awful weather, we saw very little of the local attractions and plan to return to the hotel again in June. We thought this was a great venue and delivered in every way a value for money experience.

Room Tip: If it's weekend stay I would suggest that you requested a room in the original hotel rooms to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear previous guest,
We are all delighted to learn of the success of your recent reunion gathering at our hotel. I know that we certainly enjoyed accommodating you all and providing you with an enjoyable stay. Your kind compliments are greatly appreciated by us all. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again, perhaps for another reunion.
Please don t hesitate to contact us if we can provide you with any assistance.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    183
    35
    19
    8
See reviews for
63
295
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grasby, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very friendly and helpful hotel. Unusual layout but good large room with full bathroom, very warm and comfortable with free wifi in the rooms. Well located hotel and would be lovely in the summer. Special evening meal - 6 courses very good. Breakfast a bit busy but the staff coped very well. Would certainly recommend and will come to stay again. A spa area would be great if it could be located within the grounds, could be difficult as I think it is a listed building.

Room Tip: Hotel are really helpful with room choice and will accommodate your request if they can and they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear previous guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of your recent stay with us. As you rightly say in the summer the setting here is stunning. We are delighted that you would recommend us and hope you will come back yourself to see us again soon, perhaps when the sun comes out!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room was 'up in the gods' - got some good exercise climbing the stairs over and over :-) But being in eves it had character, complete with 4 poster bed.

Breakfast was average for a hotel - uninspired, kind of 'functional'. Didn't eat there in the eve, but the restaurant was recommended (by the proprietor of a really good restaurant in the town)

Location is very good - it was an easy 20 walk into Ironbridge and the bridge, along the river if we wanted, and via the local micro-brewery if you like that kind of thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights 28feb/2nd march2012, great place, staff were wonderfull, nothing too much trouble.
The food was very good, we were on a DBB rate but could choose all the evening meals from the Alacarte menu, but with staying 3 nights and only five main courses & starter we found the menu slightly limiting, however there was a daily special, which was ok.
Breakfast was nice, small continental choice, no ham/cheese etc, cold croissants, tinned fruit as well as fresh fruit, and the staff served your english breakfast from the buffet style servery.
It was all very nice but it seemed they were watching expenditure, only two butters at breakfast 4 pieces of toast etc, if you asked for more they brought another two of everything, you know what I mean, some people kick the ++++ out of everything, and cause a lot of wasteage, I suppose they are hitting the happy medium.
our stay included the passport to all the museums and attractions, well worth it, and we would stay again, we had a super room overlooking the gardens with a 4 poster bed, and the walk in the grounds by the river after eating was great and relaxing
the only word of advise is if you are going to stay for a relaxing weekend check there arn't any weddings on before you go.

Room Tip: room10 is great, in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Previous guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the hotel, food and service. Your kind compliments in regards to the staff are greatly appreciated.
Please be assured that we have no restrictions in our offerings to guests both at breakfast and dinner, and I am pleased that you were efficiently topped up as and when needed with the required items.
The passports do indeed offer fantastic value, no doubt you still have some places left to visit. We also have many other local attractions, villages, shopping, country walking within close proximity, plenty to keep you occupied for another 3 night stay, so we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon!
If we can provide you with any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Ironbridge Gorge and the surrounding countryside. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the restaurant very good value. Spacious room and comfortable bed.
Perched just above the river, it is an easy and attractive walk into town. It is possible to buy a pass for all the museums at the hotel desk which was very helpful and more economical that paying individual entrances.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently stayed in room 40, the thermostat didn't appear to work as how ever high it was turned up, the heating didn't kick in, however the bathroom was very warm (maybe we should have slept in there). Overall the room was pleasant and clean. We ate in the restaurant, but like a previous guest report we didn't receive any pre dinner snack on the first night. The food was freshly cooked, well presented and tasty. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you want a warm room, don't have No. 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay at our property I am sorry to learn that you experienced some difficulty with the heating in room 40. This is most unusual as these are rooms are quite newly built and are very well insulated with under floor heating. I have reported your comment to maintenance for further investigation. We do hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will look to stay with us again the future. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact us.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and had a very good deal as we booked with a groupon offer, our room had a lovely view over the garden at the back and a very large bed which was extremely comfortable, the only problem we found with the room was that it could be very noisy when the person in the room above us was walking about at 2am and again at 6am as the floor boards were extremely creaky!
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and very pleasant staff, it struck me how they all made of point of smiling at everyone which makes a refreshing change.
We would be more than happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear previous guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to learn that we provided you with an enjoyable experience. I am sorry that you were disturbed by surrounding guests very early in the morning.
Our team pride themselves on providing a friendly service and we are delighted this was positively evident. We would really like to welcome you back, so we look forward to seeing you again soon.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have direct dial telephone with wireless high speed internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.