We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but a little disjointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable but a little disjointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a night here before Christmas to break up a long drive. Our room was very comfortable and cosy, although the bathroom was a little chilly with only the towel rail to warm it. The bar and restaurant felt seperate to the rest of the hotel, as if they had recently been done up with little regard to the character of the original hotel or the style of the area. However, the food was good and plentiful. Also, the family having a long conversation outside of our bedroom late at night wasn't exactly the hotel's fault, but placing seating areas outside of bedrooms is maybe not the most considerate design. The staff were great - very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear previous guest,

Following your recent stay at our property we are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am sorry that you were disturbed by close guest conversations; we have noted your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service from staff; your kind words are appreciated. Ironbridge and the surrounding area have much to offer and we hope that you consider returning perhaps for a weekend to enjoy all that there is to see and enjoy. We would be delighted to welcome you back. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    156
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
53
262
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a great Christmas Day at the valley hotel ironbridge, all the staff were very polite helpful, we were made to feel very welcome, We really enjoyed our Christmas Day Lunch, Great Service, 5* to the chef and all staff will be looking forward again to next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear previous guest,

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of Christmas Day in the hotel. We had great pleasure in providing all of our guests with a memorable Christmas Lunch. Your kind compliments will passed on to all those who worked on the day. We very much look forward to being the host for your Christmas Day celebrations in 2013!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you before then!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We took advantage of a Groupon offer to stay at the hotel, and visited family nearby. We were made very welcome, this is a lovely homely hotel. Very good 3 star standard, we had a very nice, spacious and comfortable room [room 18] with a big modern bathroom. The room was a bit cold, probably due to the very large single glazed bay window. It was cold miserble weather though,and the room did warm up eventually. Also the shower has very little power.
Breakfast was very good, we didn't get chance to have an evening meal in the restaurant, as we were quite busy. We were also worried that we might not be dressed up enough. We did have a snack through room service though, which was lovely. All the staff were efficient and friendly, particularly the reception staff. The grounds are beautiful, we would love to return again, [hopefully in better weathe]. We will use the hotel as a base to visit family again, and explore more of what looks like a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear previous guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of your trip to Ironbridge. It’s unfortunate that you were not able to dine in our fantastic Restaurant, but hopefully on your next stay we can organise a table reservation for you. The food is excellent and I have no doubt you will really enjoy the Restaurant. Please don’t worry as the dress code is smart casual.
Please do not hesitate to contact us when we can assist you with your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that the sunshine makes an appearance for you!
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We attended a wedding in November at the Valley Hotel - beautiful setting in Ironbridge. Hotel was very good- wedding food was superb; bedroom was small but had everything we needed for a one night stay. We booked three double rooms for the family and hd no problems at all. Recommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located in main corridor to function room as it can be noisy in this area if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I wish all hotels would send their staff here for training. They are the most friendly& helpful I have met. Unfortunately the hotel does not match. The value was fine as it was a Groupon deal.

I booked the room for disabled guests as my wife uses a wheelchair. I was told that it was a large room but if it was I would hate to be in a small room. If my wife had been confined to her chair then she would have found it difficult to get around. Also there is no way of accessing the lounge without using steps. We were told that we could use the bar but while we were there it was unavailable for some of the time because of a party. The other room available only has tables and chairs in it.

I suppose most guests want to be out and about as there is a lot to see in the area but we had simply gone for r&r. Because there were no real facilities for relaxing in the room (one third of the dressing table was taken up with the tea tray) and there was no separate table we went to the lounge but it was too cold to be comfortable. Surprisingly, seeing that the hotel claims to be 'green' it was only single glazed. We moved to the bar but that was not much warmer. In the bedroom we had the opposite problem - it was far to hot. The temperature was a good few degrees above what we had set it to (21).

We did not dine in the hotel because our idea of a good looking plate of food is a full one not one that the chef has drawn pretty pictures on so I cannot comment on the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ignore ratings does not work properly on Android.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food is excellent and if you want something not on the menu they are more than happy to try to accommodate your request. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, everyone from the waiting staff to the bar tender right through to the reception ladies, it was so good I returned again and again this year and will be back next year. The decor is in keeping with this beautiful old building and has just undergone a freshen up , clean tidy and very highly recommended

Room Tip: If you need a room with a bath ask or you may end up with a shower they normally accommodate your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear previous guest,

We are delighted to learn of your recent return trip to our hotel and of course with your enjoyment of all aspects of the stay. Your compliments are appreciated by us all and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit in 2013!

Wishing you all the best for Christmas and the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff is friendly, Lynne was at the desk on check-in, very nice gal! Chris, our waiter last night was awesome! The room? Not so good, we were in #18, the Honeymoon Room. There were cobwebs hanging from the sad looking ceiling fixture, and even longer cobwebs hanging from the original plaster moulding. With the heater on, the ceiling cobwebs were blowing like a hangmans noose trying to strangle me! The biggest worry was the door- only a skimpy chain for a lock! No deadbolt, no other lock of any kind! Shower was sad, I think my husband can spit out more water ton this shower. Tired looking drapes, and fabric coming unstapled from the canopy bed.
The best feature of this place is the restaurant, Chez Maw. Unbelievable food- quality, presentation, and interesting menu selection. For seddert try the chocolate brownie with ice-cream & cranberry compote! It's heaven.

Room Tip: Bed was OK, not hard but not super soft either. It was very quiet. Little to none street traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boddison, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear previous guest,

Following your recent stay at our hotel, we are very sorry learn of your comments regarding your bedroom. It is rare for us to receive feedback of this nature; it has been passed to both the Housekeeping and Maintenance department for further investigation. We are however, delighted to learn of your enjoyment of our award wining Restaurant, and thank you for your compliments of Lynne and Chris, this has been forwarded to them. We trust that you had an enjoyable trip to our wonderful area and we hope to see you with us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to you.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have direct dial telephone with wireless high speed internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.