We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enginuity

Enginuity
Coach Road | Telford, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DQ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 attractions in Ironbridge
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hands on fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited Enginuity on a wet and windy Spring Saturday afternoon - and it was brilliant! Really hands-on and educational fun for kids of all ages (including those of us in our mid 40s!). We loved the "scan it" points where you can choose to point and scan the object(s) you want to learn more about.

I really hope Enginuity is expanded and made bigger with more exhibits- as great as it is, it was over rather too quickly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    15
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“An average attraction majorly let down by its rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a massive warehouse-type attraction filled with hands-on activities and exhibits for children and adults. There is a small gift shop at the end which mainly consists of toys and children's books; toilet facilities and a vending machine with some arm chairs around it constitutes the refreshments.

We had a good time looking at the exhibits and it was something a little different to the usual museums you see. However when we have paid a large sum of money to get into an attraction, we don't expect to:

a) be ushered out before closing time

b) have staff make faces behind our backs when they think they're not being watched just because we are staying in the attraction up until 17:00 (closing time)

c) have the lights turned off and the tills closed 10 minutes before closing time to push us out

d) have the staff refuse to turn said lights and tills back on because 'we don't get paid if we stay here after 17:00.'

We have complained to the CEO of the Ironbridge museums about this and left him to deal with the member(s) of staff concerned.

We would not go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Worth a half day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having won an Ironbridge museums pass, we took our kids to Enginuity today. There's enough there to keep kids and parents entertained for an hour or two, depending on age and the amount of people visiting. It's not an entire day out but if visited in conjunction with some of the other museums in the area, it's enough to do. The exhibits were interactive and you're encouraged to have a go with the various contraptions, and we all know kids love to touch!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wonders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

good very educational a real wonderland for children of all ages. touching everything is a joy. I have never moved a full size steam loco on my own before.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Dont just think this "fun factory" is just for children. We (57&62) loved it. What a breath of fresh air, such good ideas to attract and maintain a childs attention.Highly recommended. In fact all the "museums " of the gorge are great, worth buying the passport ticket to all

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enginuity also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Enginuity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enginuity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Enginuity to your Saves list