We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Boss"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Ironbridge

The Swan Ironbridge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ironbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swan Ironbridge
Save
You added The Swan Ironbridge to your Saves list
21 Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"The Boss"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

After arriving at the hotel and not being able to even get into the building, I noticed a small note on the window saying go next door, a little odd but hey, big deal. Got shown to the garish rabbit hole room, big problem. I booked a family room as separate beds were essential, only a double room was offered. Spoke to duty manager and said it was not acceptable, was told I could have money back and go and find somewhere else, Not really an option at 20.30 at night and not knowing where I was. Ended up sleeping on the floor. Went to breakfast the next morning to be told breakfast was not included. I had booked this but "The Boss", (she point blank refused to give me her name), started arguing with me. Rude, impolite, coarse and vulgar. Doesn't deserve the tile "Boss" and most certainly won't earn that if she thinks she is doing customers a favour by staying in such a shambolic establishment.
If you like being spoken down to, being well overcharged for cheep, nasty, overpriced pub slop then go to the swan and the malt house, you will thoroughly enjoy your stay!!!

Room Tip: Choose a good room by booking into a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Our check in at the Malthouse was efficient and we weren't in any way inconvenienced by the fact that the Swan is a rooms only establishment. We really liked the charm of this old building but you need to duck your head on some low doorways! Our double room was comfortable and spacious, with a large bath in the en-suite. It was great to have plenty of parking available onsite. The Swan is in a great location, close to the Iron Bridge, walking paths and shops. A delightful place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

booked in to the swan, ironbridge for bank holiday after reading tripadvisor review dated earlier this year.
it now belongs to the Malthouse people.
check in person - nothing special - turned out to be totally unfriendly over the course of 4 days - she clls herself Bossybird
told new bed will be in our room next day - no problems with us - my side of mattress had a big dip - uncomfortable.
no new bed next day
no new bed 3rd day - told Bossybird - answered just "no". informed her of lumpy mattress - comment from her "it's a tempur mattress" and just walked away.
checkout 4th day by Bossybird - generally thank you and turned away after giving my husband his credit receipt - no "have a good trip" etc.
other staff very friendly and helpful. good chef in restaurant. PITY ABOUT BOSSYBIRD!!!!
room - big. no phone. no full mirror.
bathroom - big, o shower curtain
cleaner - excellent.

Room Tip: don't go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Came to spend 2 nights. £160 so expecting something. The bed was broken when we got there (they said they had been having trouble with the beds) and moved us to another room down the road. We had to transport all our stuff over. Spend a night in a good room (The Malthouse) but the room was above the live music bar and literally everything in the room shook. But the music stopped at 12.30 so that was fine. In the morning we were told we had to move back to our old room. Again had to move all the stuff over (if we had been told earlier we would have planned earlier), when we got back to our old room the bed was in pieces and the place was a state. Had to sit and wait for the maintenance guy who we eventually asked to leave so we could get ready for a wedding. Before he left the lights blew a fuse and all went, it was no real problem since it was daytime but the bathroom was pitch black. They 'fixed' the problem. We were almost late due to all this.

Came back after the wedding (very long day) and the room was back to normal. Got into bed but the lights were all off. Bathroom was pitch black but bedside lamps worked. This was fine (we were used to this by now) but the emergency lights were permanently on. Could not sleep. I got dressed, walked down the road (there is no member of staff in the building) and tried the main hotel. No member of staff available at 12:30. Terrible night’s sleep.

In the morning I complained about everything being broken. In addition to the above problems the whole place had VERY low ceilings, I am 6ft tall and now have a bad back from stooping all the time. Thick visible dust, wood peeling off doors, bathroom doors that required serious slamming.

The responses to my complaints were 'It is an old building', 'These things happen' and worst of all ' Yeah..... we have had these problems before ....'. They know this place is terrible yet still charge a serious amount of money for it. ONE member of staff (I believe the owners daughter) was apologetic, everyone else couldn't care.

I asked for a refund (at least for the one terrible night) however was refused. It was a shame I had to pay upfront (but since they know these issues not surprising) otherwise I would have refused to pay for the last night. The worst part was the complete apathy.

Do not stay there are plenty of better hotels around.

Room Tip: Avoid all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very disappointed with room,really didn't like moulin rouge theme.No shower just hand held attachment,who wants a bath in the morning?recently decorated, masking tape still on windows.Location is great for all ironbridge museums.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last bonfire night (2013). The room was lovely and clean, very comfortable. Having a separate entrance to the rooms was great as you could come and go as you pleased. Staff very friendly and helpful, excellent service. Food also very good. Going to book another short break here for this summer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked in as a stopover on our way back from the Wirral. Despite the flood barriers, the rain and the rising River Severn outside, the welcome couldn't have been warmer!
The room was fine. Clean and equipped with your basics. The bed was a bit squishy - a memory foam mattress - it just wasn't what we were used to, but comfortable enough.
Breakfast was at the sister pub/restaurant 1 minute down the road, and was good quality.
A great place to stay if you want to explore the surrounding or as a stopover on your way further afield.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Ironbridge

Address: 21 Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Swan Ironbridge Hotel Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Ironbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.