We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally let down by attitude of one member of staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Ironbridge

White Hart Ironbridge
Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge tf8 7aw, England
01952 432901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 25 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally let down by attitude of one member of staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate Sunday lunch here as a family. The place wasn't that busy but various pieces of bad news regarding length of wait, items off menu, no coleslaw, no sauce, delivered by the waitress with a talent for making us feel it was our fault! Finally ended up arguing with us over a mix up (theirs) with our order! Unbelievably inappropriate especially in front of three children. Shame as the food was plentiful and ok for a pub and the other guy serving was very polite and helpful - let down by his extremely rude colleague.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    7
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a meal there yesterday and here is my opinion of it.
barman very friendly and helpful.
I ordered the meat pie and they should have called it Desperate Dan Pie it was huge very tasty as well.
My wife ordered the steak and chips medium rare and like most places it came medium well done ( what is it with chefs about cooking steak ) but still tasted great only trouble was her chips were to dry but it was late in the afternoon and we only got our order in by five minutes before they stopped taking food orders so maybe that was the problem.
If I could make just one suggestion to them, please turn that music off, it was a cross between punk and some sort of hell music, fine for a bunch of youngsters on a night out but out of character for this sort of pub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The bar staff were great but the food was tasteless and microwaved will not be eating there again. Slowly putting e ff eating at these type of pubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here mid January 2013, room two was lovely and cosy and comfortable. Staff absolutely great very welcoming and helpful. Will certainly return during summertime. Must comment on the guy named Adam (I think that was his name) who prepared and served breakfast,he was a credit to this place and deserves a mention in this review.Thankyou to you all for making our stay such a pleasant one.Frank& Lynn.(Liverpool).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“give room 4 a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

room smelt of damp,could have been cleaner, no accesable windows for air,bars on outside of window, food, location and staff ok

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Ironbridge also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to White Hart Ironbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Ironbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.