We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal unless your on groupon!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New India Garden

New India Garden
659-661 London Road, Sheffield S2 4HT, England
0114 250 0059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #646 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal unless your on groupon!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Me and my 2 friends visited with the groupon voucher.. now just to explain im not typical groupon customer who expects all for nothing but i felt unwelcome here because we were using this. We were still eating the popadoms when someone came to order the food then whilst one of the members of the table was still eating her starter the mains
were brought out so she left some starter as felt rushed and it just felt like we were being rushed constantly. We managed to have poppadoms, starters mains and drinks and still be out in an hour. I understand that companies dont earn a lot of money from these groupon deals but surely the main point is to gain repeat custom which you wont get by acting like this. The food was beautiful and would have returned if not for this.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    5
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went to the restaurant after buying a groupon voucher, which made it fantastic value for what we had. We had no problems using the voucher as it clearly stated what was included in the deal. They staff were really accommodating as we took our eight month old baby with us, who wasn't mentioned at the time of booking.

The starters were full of flavour. The onion bahjis were light and fluffy, not the usual pan flat deep fried discs that most curry houses insist on serving. The main dishes were fantastic, my OH had the Tamil which had been recommended on previous reviews on here, and would fully recommend to anyone going.

The presentation of all the food was excellent as was the service from the staff. We had really enjoyable evening and will be returning at some point in the near future.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, uk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful food - service does not match it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went here with a Groupon voucher and so were extremely happy with the quality of the food and the value for money. The mains are on average £7 - 10 and the starters £3 - 5. We had tandoori mix and prawn chaat for starters and a lamb dish and a king prawn and white fish dish for our mains. The food was exquisite, beautifully spiced and rich - a nice surprise. As some people have commented, the only down side was the main server of the night, who whilst not actually being rude was hardly welcoming and effusive.
However the food and the general ambience more than offset this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited New India Garden with a Groupon voucher. As always with Groupon we got a really good deal and the food we were served was really good. However, I have never received such bad service. Our young waiter showed us to our table without a word and never cracked a smile all night. I showed him our voucher and asked what the offer included. He snatched the voucher out of my hand and said ' four starters, four mains'. We found out later, when our bill arrived that the four starters and mains had to be below a certain price! Its such a shame that, although the chef is doing a brilliant job he is being let down by at least one of the staff serving.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently visited and had a fantastic evening. The curries we ordered were as good if not better than we have had at many different curry houses.
I can definatley recommend the Pathia and Chilli massalla,
The staff we friendly and attentive too!
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New India Garden also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to New India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New India Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.