We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high standard uses good produce the ambarii chicken apna style I can recommend !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amber Tandoori
740 Ecclesall Rd, Sheffield S11 8TB, England
0114 2680886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 1,121 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently high standard uses good produce the ambarii chicken apna style I can recommend !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Ignore the two self styled idiots who colluded to put down a top Indian restaurant . Tandoor dishes second to none good quality food good portions good produce always consistent the egg and special rice has never been bettered anywhere Credit to the gaffer 2 good pubs near by too the lescar and the greystones

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“In defense of Ambar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant for 15 years and i have never had a bad curry yet. And the standards were up to usual when i visited last friday. Kumar the owner was his usual friendly, charming self and his food was as good as ever. Over the last 35 years i have had curries all over Sheffield and this is definitely one of the favourites that i always return to. I am surprised at the negative comments which all seem to have been added around the same dates in August. Personally i don't believe that anyone has visited this restaurant and had such poor service & food , could this be some opposition trying to ruin his reputation ? Personally i would ignore them and try the place for yourself . The place is cozy and warm and the food is top notch!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and agree best on Ecclesall Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location is not the best if out drinking as this is high up Ecclesall road almost Greystones. Situated just above the park its a great place to start the night off and walk down to pups from this location. Parking is restricted but plenty of places to park on the side roads behind the restraunt. Staff and owner are very friendly and go the extra mile to make sure your visit is welcoming. The takeway is also very nice. I always find the meat to be high quality. Traditional menu with many classic english styled dishes but alongside some very aunthetic indian dishes. Children welcome

8/10 worth a visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The perfect local curry-house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From start to finish, a great experience every time here. The proprietor is charming and friendly without being overbearing, you always feel like you are a valued customer. The food is traditional and high quality, starters mains and sides all extremely tasty and well cooked. We take any guests here when they come to Sheffield and have never once been let down. Long may it continue!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best on eccy road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Iv been to restaurant in and out off sheffield n all the restaurant on eccy rd and i have to say this is the best the owner is friendly and very helpful the service is excellent and the BEST currys me and my wife have had our new curry house the takeways are just as good.We took the family down last week and everyone loved it my son wanted to take 1 of the elephants home check it out you be glad you did

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Tandoori also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Amber Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.