We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would visit again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aagrah

aagrah
Unit 1 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
01142795577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Pakistani, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Aagrah experience is designed to overwhelm you with a complete sensory journey, encompassing the rich cultural ambiance and truly remarkable culinary sensation of authentic Kashmiri cuisine... Time and time again... Balancing time-honoured dishes with culinary innovation, our hand-picked, award winning team of chefs relentlessly aim to provide healthy and nutritious dishes prepared to nothing less than total satisfaction, in the most comfortable of atmospheres, to our esteemed clientele. Aagrah ~ satisfaction, comfort and affordability...
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I would visit again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The meal was lovely. A lot of flavour and texture to even simple dishes and the selection of food was very good. The service however was very poor. The waiters were rude and were very snappy when you asked them a question. I hadn't even finished my main when the waiter took it away. I don't expect any kind of poor treatment at all on a night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    156
    57
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely gorgeous highly recommend!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went in and it looked busy so we were unsure as to whether the food would be rushed so not tasty, we couldn't have been more wrong! It was beautiful, we ordered one hot curry and one medium and we were very pleased. Hot curries can sometimes lack flavor but this was like an explosion of flavor in your mouth it was great. The breads we ordered were too cooked to a high standard. We ate and drank and when the bill came we were pleasantly surprised. We will be going again and highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great start to a night out in Sheffield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here for a meal out before hitting the bars. It's in an idea spot as all the decent bars are just a minute's walk away from the restaurant.

We reserved a table that day, we were seated very promptly even though it was very busy and there weren't that many tables free. Drinks came quick along with our crispy poppadoms and dips - all very tasty. Didn't have to wait too long for our mains. I ordered the mixed grill which came on a sizzling hot plate - very good portion size, probably shouldn't have ordered the side to go with it! On the menu there were also options for vegetarians and "English Dishes" in case you were inviting a party with people who weren't too keen on Indian food.

Service was great, staff always had a smile on their faces and there was a laugh and a joke after we'd paid the bill - always a good sign they're not "after a tip"! There were also plenty of attentive staff at hand.

The atmosphere was good - plenty of people enjoying their meals, having a good. The restaurant itself is fitted out great too! Couldn't fault the value, we ordered two delicious mains, a side dish each, naan bread and bottle of wine which came to just over £50.

The specials which you can order in advance look very impressive too. I'll bare those in mind for the future! One of them was a whole roasted lamb.

Very good night in all. Tip: don't drink wine to cool down the heat of a chilli! Think it's milk you're meant to drink?!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Decidedly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When this place first opened it was excellent. But think this may be my last visit for a time. Staff wouldn't leave us alone to chat and peruse the menu and it wasn't so busy that they needed the table. Poppadoms a bit greasy and chewy. Got the impression they had been sitting around for a while. Starters fine. But main courses which used chicken tikka (two of them) were not good at all. The chicken was dry and hard as if it had been reheated. Sauce was nicely flavoured but overall poor. Then a massive party arrived beside us and we could no longer hear one another speak. Time to go then. Not many drinks on the bill, no desserts or coffees and £25 a head. So not cheap; and so not worth it. Also bhajis marked as gluten free on menu, but waiter said they're fried with samosas etc, so no good for Coeliacs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm not really a big fan of Indian food but I went here for my friends birthday and the food was really good! We ordered from the menu but I think if I ever go again I may try the buffet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed aagrah also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to aagrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aagrah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.