We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobs should defo stay away from this one!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Romantica

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Romantica
78 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LR, England
0114 272 4641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Snobs should defo stay away from this one!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having read through some of the reviews for La Romantica I had to write a review for this place. Yes the restaurant itself is small and old fashioned and maybe not as clean and modern as people would expect when going for a meal now days. It is small and old fashioned but it's intimate and if your not a snob you will appreciate this place. I have been coming to this restaurant for over 8 years now and it is somewhere very special to me and my husband. The food is a lot better than average, my husband and I have had almost everything off the menu over the years from what I have witnessed everything I've eaten is freshly made as many of times I've watched it being made and neither of us have ever complained, been disappointed or felt let down by this restaurant, The pricing is good and the portions are more than reasonable. The two waitresses who work there have worked there for as long as I've been going and it's things like that, that makes me return. I know exactly what I'm getting and there is definitely a chilled no fuss atmosphere which I love. You don't get pestered and I feel like I can be myself not like half of the "upmarket" Italian restaurants I've been to in the past. The people who are writing the negative reviews obviously don't get this restaurant at all and should stay away. If you like a chilled atmosphere, good food and a bit of character this maybe the place for you. It's the things like you can't pay by card and only cash that make me love this place and in my opinion they're isn't many places left like this anymore....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is a real find, the food is the best Italian I've ever had. Real home cooked food really good portions and very good value for money. The garlic bread topped with chilli and tomato was delicious and the spinach and ricotta ravioli was the best. The dough is fresh and you can tell the sauces are cooked fresh and home made. This type of restaurant you would normally pass from the outside but I recommend any one to try this place it really does offer stunning tasty food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“smashin place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family and I have been regulars at this restaurant for a number of years. Always brilliant service and consistent lovely food. The best garlic bread ever and the homemade chips are just ace. Well worth a visit. Decent food at decent prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Another small and intimate Italian Rest`t. The food is great and the staff really make you feel wanted

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Romantica for as long as I can remember!
After trying other Italian restaurants they just don't compare to Romantica.
The food is to die for, big portions, all fresh ingredients, NOT frozen pizza bases! (As some people have put you absolute morons!!!).
I can assure you that you will not get a better fillet steak and chips for the price in this restaurant, in my opinion they don't charge enough for all their food!!!
The waitress/service is very friendly and polite and will happily go out of her way for you if you need anything etc.
The atmosphere is just what I like, romantic & family friendly etc.
Overall it's a massive thumbs up for me and all my friends and family!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Romantica also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.