We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lifetime favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Romantica

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Romantica
78 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LR, England
0114 272 4641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,120 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A lifetime favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Wherever I have roamed - this is my absolute favourite restaurant. It is amazing food consistently cooked by the same chef. I have been going there for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. I'm always a happy customer! It is also excellent because its amazing value and not posh. This place is not for those who like posh - its a little place which steams up with the passion of kitchen endeavour! I don't sit upstairs if I can help it as the steam rises can make your eyes run! Wear waterproof mascara on busy nights - it will be worth it! Yum.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out On This One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the best place to eat Italian food in Sheffield! We've tried most of the competition in Sheffield, but almost 30 years on, we keep coming back for more. The food is freshly cooked and always piping hot and pizza's are absolutely fantastic. The service and atmosphere is very good. Prices are so good you don't need a voucher! The decor is very basic but don't be put off, go in and try their food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST Italian I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not sure what all the negative reviews are on about to be honest. Been coming here for years and no other italian restaurant even comes close. An absolute gem! Fantasies food, wonderful atmosphere and excellent prices. I have calzone and it has always been meaty and the quality has never changed. More than three pieces of mince in there!! Chocolate pancakes are gorgeous and brilliant for sharing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I think some people just like making trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Been going regularly to the La Romantica for over 20 years only once had a meal to complain about always pleanty of food generally too much for the ladies and it's always freshly cooked, and the chef does make the pizza bases as well and yes he is Italian. The steak's are the best in Sheffield and the hand cooked chips are to die for and so is the garlic bread, yes it is floating in oil and garlic but that what we want, not slices of a Tesco french stick like most other Italian restaurants. Yes the place is old world and quaint but we like it that way and to prove it the posh Italian that opened next door could not compete and closed down after less than six months.
If the people who complan about this place would recomend a better orthentic Italian in Sheffield please let me know

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once was great, now very average at Best!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place used to be a family favourite of ours but during the recent tough finacial times, you can tell this place is cutting back. The last time I visited I ordered Lasagne, I counted it had 3 pieces of mince in the entire dish. I obviously mentioned this to the owners daughter (who is lovely by the way), and she just looked resigned as if she knew it was the case and just hoped no one noticed. Overall the quality of the ingrediants have fallen off a cliff.
However the Garlic breads are still the best in Sheffield!!
I just wished this place was as good as ity was 10 or 15 years ago!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Romantica also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.