We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms in need of major TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kenwood Hall to your Saves list
Kenwood Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rooms in need of major TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent last evening at the Hotel first impressions very good. Booked an Executive Room! well I wouldnt have liked to stay in a standard room. The room was really dated the ceiling paper was coming away, the bathroom needed an overhaul.Carpets needed renewing paint work need touching up (small things that make a difference). When I went for breakfast at 6:45 the buffet wasnt fully ready and had finished the little I had before the rest was laid out. In short not a very pleasant experience, which is a shame because it could be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    283
    160
    81
    44
See reviews for
114
321
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked 4 double rooms as the family were in Sheffield to celebrate my daughter's birthday. I booked directly with the hotel and got a really good rate for bed and breakfast, not worth going through the booking agencies. The hotel is really tucked away, my daughter has lived in Sheffield for 4 years and had no idea it was there!. Yes, the rooms do have some paintwork that needs touching up but they are very clean, comfortable and a good size. The hotel itself is in lovely grounds, beautiful lake and walks - you really could be miles from anywhere but are only a mile or so outside the city centre. Really easy to get into the peaks as well. The breakfast was one of the best buffet breakfast that we have had anywhere. Everything was very fresh and replenished regularly. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but there were no delays and the staff were very efficient. Staff generally were very friendly and helpful.
Spa and pool good and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet. You can try asking for an upgrade if they are not busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Comfortable hotel on the edge of Sheffield. Within walking distance of town and Botanic Gardens. Rooms slightly dated, especially the older section, but clean and comfortable and not too expensive. Lots of stairs! Wi-Fi access cumbersome but free. Lovely grounds and plenty of parking. Breakfast was good. They even had soya milk, which was impressive! Lovely leisure area and pool. Have stayed there before. Would do so again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Kenwood Hall Hotel this week, as we were visiting relatives in Sheffield. First impressions of the hotel are good, with lovely grounds and ok public rooms.
However the room we stayed in (403) needs some serious tlc and maintenance to bring it up to standard, especially the bathroom which was in a poor state of repair, with a door handle hanging off. There was an extra (tatty) bed in the room for some reason.
To our chagrin, the room was not cleaned or serviced at all while we were there, for which they apologised and deducted a small percentage as compensation.
Breakfast was ok, though plates were cold & there was lipstick on our juice glass.
We had one evening meal, which was also pretty average. The first choice meal ran out, so we chose again, and were initally charged for the first choice, which was of course higher! They rectified the bill when we pointed this out.
This is definitey not the best hotel in the chain as we have stayed at both Oakleigh Court & Beaumont in Windsor, which are both in a different class altogether.

Room Tip: don't stay in 403 unless it is refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The grounds are beautiful and the peak district is very close. However, the room had a lot to be desired, the rooms need serious updating and certainly a very deep clean, the toilet was filthy but rather than report it to the arrogant front desk staff I instead cleaned it myself, there was a lot of damn in the room and bathroom, it was extremely dusty and it smelt of pets - I have allergies so this was not an ideal place for me to stay. The breakfast was a ripe off - a greasy spoon would serve better quality breakfast and nicer tea and coffee. On the whole I was not happy with this hotel. Note on their website they have a disclaimer "Please note that bedroom pictures on this site may not portray accurate representations of specific bedroom types." that is very true! The rooms on the site is what sold the hotel to me! Do not be fooled!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Kenwood Hall Hotel for two nights in November. The rooms were perfectly adequate and rather corporate, and the breakfast fine. BUT, and it is a big BUT the wireless connection is dreadful. You are only allowed 1/2 a time and then you have to log back in, and it runs so very slow. If you are having to work in your room you will be pulling your hair out, or decamp to the nearest pub with a better connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a last minute booking at the Kenwood Hall for our aniversary and found a little gem really. Firstly the negatives, the room (311) was not really up to standard if I am honest. A great sized room but there were cobwebs from the ceiling which was also peeling and quite a lot of black mould around the bath. That said the value for dinner bed and breakfast was outstanding and the meal in the Tempus restaurant was well well worth the visit. Overall a great night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenwood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Hall

Address: Kenwood Road, Sheffield S7 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kenwood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hall Sheffield
Hotel Kenwood Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.