We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food I've had in Sheffield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huiwei

Huiwei
221 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2GW, England
01142013482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food I've had in Sheffield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I came with friends in February and we were shown to a boothed seating area which was really nice and private. We ordered a set menu, but wanted to change one dish, and this was no problem. The service was good- polite and non-intrusive. Each dish was different and was absolutely delicious. We had to ask for more plum sauce for our duck pancakes though, but it was no problem and I don't think we were charged for the extra. There was plenty left, which went home in a doggy bag for my friends Chinese husband, who apparently really enjoyed it! This is the nicest Chinese food I have eaten in Sheffield, and therefore justifies the slightly more expensive bill. We have since tried takeaway from here, which was just as good (still not enough plum sauce so would recommend you ask for a double portion if you like it as much as we do!)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I had this place recomended to us and I am so glad we tried it. The menu is extensive, the atmosphere is very relaxed, the food was excellent and the staff were very attentive but without being fussy. To cap it all there was even live music (beautiful piano music). Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone - give it a try.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Perfect end to a perfect evening. Popped on off spec and greeted with a warm welcome. Though busy we got a table within 10 minutes. The 3 of us kicked off with 2 lots of dim sum and a quarter duck and pancakes. This was followed by separate dishes of prawns in a hot sauce + chicken with chillies, duck in plum sauce, Cantonese chicken Singapore vermicelli, rice - all piping hot and perfectly cooked. Sadly there was too much so we had the pleasure of just finishing on Sunday evening. Fantastic night and my wife also got to tinkle on the ivories with the young chap - although he is in a bit of a different league. Thanks for a great evening - we will be back - Graham and Hilary.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Great food, professional staff and nice atmosphere

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic ambieance excellent food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

had a lovely evening on our wedding anniversary excellent food great champagne and wine excellent efficient friendly staff 1st visit will definitley be back will tell everyone we really enjoyed very relaxing atmosphere not rushed and thepiano playing so calming after a hard week at work what more can i say thankyou for a lovely evening.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huiwei also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Huiwei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huiwei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.