We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I'm near, I can't go passed without stopping for lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wortley Arms

The Wortley Arms
Halifax Road, Sheffield S35 7AB, England
0114 2888749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: The Wortley Arms was originally built as a coach house in 1753 at a cost of 188 pounds and 66 shillings! After an extensive renovation period we reopened our doors in November 2006.You will find we have retained many of the features that have given this historical building its renowned character including its revolving doors and the solid oak beams. Customers can enjoy themselves in our warm welcoming environment in front of our wood fire, whilst enjoying a locally brewed ale or some excellent fresh food like our famous Wortley Pie.The Montagu Rooms occupy the upper floor. Here we can accommodate private functions for all purposes. You can hire part or the whole of the top floor for exclusive private dining, for seated parties of up to 50 or buffet style catering for larger gatherings. Alternatively you can reserve the entire venue including the facilities of the Wortley Arms.Food for both the Wortley Arms and the Montagu Rooms is prepared under the direction of Master Chef of Great Britain Andy Gabbitas. Andy uses recipes that he has collected in the course of his experience as private chef to well known celebrities and on his world travels to produce a cuisine at its most pure, simple and seasonal.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If I'm near, I can't go passed without stopping for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Had another wonderful lunch there with my wife and hats off to the chefs. Always inventive and always tasty.
Many thanks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    60
    25
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful location, wonderful building, wonderful menu and wonderful staff. Wortley Arms is a real treat. Service is great, prices are reasonable. Food is exquisite. I have had the posh burgers, lamb kebabs, duck confit and fish and chips here, and all have been gorgeous. It's like gastro pub grub and the quality of food can't be faulted at all. The chef here is also fantastic, he actually came out to see how our food was, which really made the experience great. A must in South Yorkshire.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing sunday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing Sunday dinner summed it up. Not ur usual Sunday dinner as we eat off the main menu. Venison,pork fillet and belly and lamb cutlets and slow braised shoulder. Brilliant meat and top cooking. Service was slow regarding drinks and menus, wine list etc but this didn't let it down. scallops to start were to die for aswell if not a little expensive. A place for a special Sunday lunch in a relaxed atmosphere. Shame I don't live closer!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“There isn't a better restaurant pub in South Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've probably dined here once per week since it opened, I've dined in the dining room (Montagues) mostly down in the bar area, but a couple of weeks ago in the private dining room.
The Service is always; efficient, friendly and helpful thanks to Lesley, Gus and Jamie (both of them). The food always consistent and exceptional otherwise I wouldn't go so often. For the quality the food is great value, the atmosphere warm and welcoming. There is a very good chalk board and the regulars are excellent, deserts to die for. Proof of the pudding is in the eating they say and it couldn't be truer here, Andy and his staff deserve every accolade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went to Wortley Arms last night & had a lovely meal. Excellent starters & main courses. The menu looks quite limited until you veiw the specials board which has something for everyone on it. We were on a table next to a roaring fire so were kept lovely in warm on a horiible cold evening. service was excellent throughout the meal by attentive staff who were not overbearing at all. Will we be back - certainly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wortley Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wortley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wortley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.