We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme Cafe

Thyme Cafe
490-492 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2QA, England
+44 (0)114 267 0735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food and there is such a good atmosphere! Good hearty rustic food.
I would definately reccomend to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    85
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlech, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good place for a bistro meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant ambiance on a Sunday afternoon, after the lunch time rush.
Excellent fish and chips. Staff were friendly and courteous. Cost was slightly high but not too expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab food but service has really deteriorated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a lovely first 2 courses here last night and until dessert the service was fine. My husband ordered a dessert which was described as being accompanied by rum and raisin ice cream. When it arrived it came with vanilla ice-cream. When he raised this with the waiter, rather than providing an explanation (which would have sufficed) the waiter muttered in a surly manner an apology and then walked off. He returned with our bill (we hadn't asked for it nor indicated we were ready to leave) and told us he had taken both our desserts off the bill. I was entirely happy with my dessert and neither of us wanted a discount on the bill. The waiter clearly thought, complacently in my view, that taking money off the bill compensates for poor service but it doesn't. We have eaten here many times, not only because the food is lovely but because we want to support local restaurants but we left feeling very undervalued.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in an unprepossessing area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Googled my way from a nearby hotel to this place. Unpretentious, chalkboard menus (usually a good sign): outstandingly good food. No wonder the place was nearly full on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent unfussy fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I eat at Thyme quite regularly - it is among the best in Sheffield and I've dined at most of the top Sheffield places listed on Tripadvisor. Amazed Thyme doesn't rate higher, the food is excellent and comes in decent sized portions. Unfussy but very well put together plates. I had lamb with cous-cous, aubergine, peppers and harissa today and it rates among one of the best meals I've ever eaten. The atmosphere is equally unfussy, really nice ambience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Cafe also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Thyme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.