We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always busy always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme Cafe

Thyme Cafe
490-492 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2QA, England
+44 (0)114 267 0735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 1,080 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always busy always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A recent visit to the Thyme Cafe probably wasn't as mindblowing as the previous visit but all the standards were still there. We stopped by for a late lunch just for some sandwiches and salads. The restaurant looked pretty full and remained so until we left by about 3:30. I like the concept of menus on blackboards in a relaxed, almost bistro style. Doesn't accept reservations so get there early.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    85
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
586 helpful votes 586 helpful votes
“Cosy Refuge On A Dank English Autumn Sunday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really this place doesn't need to be reviewed, it's very often full of customers even though you just have to turn up rather than being able to book a table and I suspect that not all that many of them are actually all that bothered about what Tripadvisor's contributors have to say about the place. Even though I've had a home in Broomhill for 30 years I never got around to visiting Thyme until yesterday. It was a day which reached the depths of the gloomiest English weather, rather chilly and damp and drizzly. A refuge to eat a late Sunday lunch was needed. Ambling around Broomhill, hood pulled up and dressed in several layers of clothing, I noticed that Thyme was, unusually, only about half-full (La Vaca across the road had only about 4 people in there at the time) and this seemed a good opportunity to nip in and try the place out. The warmth of the place and its cosy classic bistro appearance were immediately reviving. I noted the eclectic array of furniture, most of it correctly described as "distressed", and the people already sitting in there who looked like they must all be locals - they had the well-heeled but dressed-down air of the typical Broomhillian, all well-educated mid-middle class English, sitting in their family groups with immaculately behaved children and many generally leaner than most people you see dining in British dining places nowadays but still appearing to order surprisingly large amounts of food. And everyone seemed very content. The dishes were displayed on large blackboards which took up most of the wall space and provided a form of decor in their own right. There appeared to be 5 starters and about 10 to 12 main courses, as eclectic as the furniture, but, with it being Sunday, I settled for the roast of the day - roast pork belly with all the trimmings including apple sauce, splendidly crackled if slightly burnt-tasting crackling, roast potatoes, a generous helping of vegetables, tasty stuffing and, for good measure, a very acceptable Yorkshire pudding. There was a good serving of the meat and the meal approached reasonable value at £14 - I calculated that the average cost of the main courses was about £13.50. There was a nice little wine list although I managed to chose a rather unexciting Argentinian Shiraz malbec, though the pleasure derived from it seemed to increase as I worked my way down the glass. The meal was fine, the pork belly was not as tender as I should have liked it to be and perhaps slightly less seasoned than it might have been but it was pleasingly filling on that unpleasant autumn afternoon. The desserts cost £5 (the price of desserts in restaurants seems to be inflation-busting more than most aspects of meals out) and was pleasant enough, consisting of lemon cake, custard cream and lemon sorbet and named on the menu as "lemon meringue sundae" though there seemed to be no meringue in sight. Service throughout was soothingly relaxed and helpful, just what you need when you're making yourself cosy in a happily comfortable and warm cafe/restaurant. So, with my spirits uplifted, I departed Thyme for the gathering evening gloom of autumn in Broomhill telling myself that if I ever see room to eat in the place again I would certainly go back to try another meal there though if I did not have a home in the suburb I probably would not want to travel too far to eat there. I should like to give Thyme 7 out of 10 but you can't with Tripadvisor and so it's 3 or 4 spots, and given that eating at Thyme is rather better than an average dining experience, I shall give it 4 Tripadvisor spots.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Give Thyme the time of day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It would seem that the word’s well and truly out in Sheffield, as on every occasion I’ve visited Thyme Cafe – usually on a Sunday – the place has been packed to the rafters with happy diners.

It’s always reassuring to see a busy restaurant, particularly in these difficult times – give Thyme the time of day and you’ll understand why.

There are more main courses than you can shake a stick at – varying in price from around £9.00 to just shy of £20 for a ribeye. I’d come over all ‘roasty’ so went for the traditional roast beef dinner. I have to say the only thing traditional about this were the ingredients – I’ve seldom tasted such good beef – and served a perfect pink.

My companions went for Seabass (£17) and Steak & mushroom pie (£13) – all portions were a decent size – but I guess Yorkshire folk must expect that.

A couple of puds, a half carafe of house red and a pint from a large range of beers brought the bill to £71.40.

I understand the menu changes daily and offers whatever’s in season – their website provides a good guide to what's on offer. Don’t worry if you have young ones in your party. They are well catered for in the menu and appear to made very welcome by the very friendly and helpful staff.

A great find and even worth a trip to Sheffield for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Can only wish that lived closer. Took daughter for lunch tidy, in first term st university in Sheffield, the Thyme cafe had been recommended by colleagues, friends and Tripadvisor. Lived upto expectations - great food and atmosphere, and excellent beer - Abbeydale(?) pale ale was too notch and well kept. we will back - if only a few times 'per term'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent weekday late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Efficient and friendly staff and a relaxed but bustling atmosphere - we were given a warm welcome when we arrived in the still crowded restaurant at about 2.30.p.m. Excellent choice of food from a variety of main meals and sandwiches to a lunchtime and early evening menu offering a choice of simple main courses plus a drink for £10.00. Or you could just have coffee and cake. We chose steak and chips served with a rocket salad and fish and chips with a little bowl of mushy peas and tartare sauce. Both dishes are small portions - just what we wanted - but of excellent quality and beautifully cooked. I'm looking forward to calling in again for an evening meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Cafe also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Thyme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.