We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE COFFEE STOP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant
Clarkehouse Road, Sheffield S10 2LN, England
0114 268 7788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #745 of 1,040 restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reigate
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“NICE COFFEE STOP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got a friendly welcome when we called in for a coffee. Nice comftable seats and good value food. An ideal spot for refreshment when viewing the splendid Botanical Gardens.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

32% Recommend
    5
    4
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location-shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I went here with two friends for a quick lunch before walking around the Botanical Gardens. It was only about 2pm and we were told there were only 2 portions of soup left and only white bread for sandwiches.
The woman behind the counter had obviously had a customer service bypass!! Ok - she was about 6/7 months pregnant and maybe she was tired but it wouldnt have been too much to ask for a smile and a welcome.
The soup was good but the 'crusty bread' promised on the specials board wasnt crusty and we each got just 1 pat of butter. the cutlery was thrown onto the table in a heap - not even given to each of us separately. My friend went in search of salt and pepper.The same miserable woman was sitting at a table eating (nobody behind the counter) so my friend asked her where she might find the s&p. the woman just pointed!! It was so rude!
There were tables left with dirty plates on and, when they were cleared they weren't wiped.
We didnt bother with cake because they are obviously bought in, not home made and they didnt look very appetising and they were very expensive.
It is a lovely venue, light and airy with, of course, great views of the Gardens. The tables are a good size and the chairs are comfy.This place could be fantastic but it needs staff who take a pride in their work and who enjoy meeting people.
At the end of the walk we talked about whether to face 'grumpy-drawers' again but decided against it in favour of a cuppa back at home!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Situated in the old 'curator's house' - the setting is pleasant and the food very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food and drink choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

went here to a leaving party for a lecturer from work. The food we were served haqd been pre ordewred because of the numbers. The food was all fresh and hot, condidering the numbers was a feat itself. We had a good choice of wines and drink from the bar the staff were all helpful and professional. the Botanical Gardens is a beautiful backdrop for this good value eatery long may it reign.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Went here for breakfast one Friday morning; the place was empty which is such a shame as the location is lovely. The food was good and wholesome but lacking in presentation. Staff are nice and friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Gardens Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.