We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zing Vaa Restaurant

Zing Vaa Restaurant
55 The Moor, Sheffield S1 4PF, England
+44 (0)114 275 6633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A lot of my Chinese classmates enjoy taking me out here for some more authentic cuisine, and it sure does taste "right"! My friend even ordered chicken feet!
The portions are very filling and tasty... would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best dim sum in Sheffield!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love coming here for dim sum on sundays. It is absolutely packed with the local Chinese people so we know it must be authentic. There is often a queue out the door, so we always book in advance. We love the Prawn Dumplings here but our favourite is coming for the fresh bakery every sunday. We do not know any other Chinese restaurant in Sheffield that has a bakery too - They have hot fluffy rolls and cakes for sale until 2pm and their dim sum menu is translated into English so it is super easy to try new things. We always bring visiting family and friends here as we know it will always be a great experience. Can't wait to come again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Second visit was even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This time we had the lunch menu for about £5.80.

The chicken and sweetcorn soup was lovely and the I decided to have the prawn and cashew chop suey dish. It was amazing and I was so full I didn't need to eat later.

Can thoroughly recommend tis place and will be back for a third visit next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Eat like a King or Queen, or both, for a pittance. Outstanding choice of sumtptuous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have been eating at the Zing Vaa restaurant for over 50 years, under three owners, and I can quite honestly say that I haven't had a bad meal during the whole of this period. Well, maybe a couple of below average meals.

At lunchtime, Monday to Friday, there is a set three-course menu costing just under £6.00 a head. And on Saturdays there is a buffet menu for under £6,00 where you help yourself to a fairly comprehensive choice of dishes, including dim sums and sweet. A word of warning, though, the dim sums maybe a bit dry if you arrive late. Best to keep an eye on what's been brought up from the kitchen piping hot.

The a la carte menu in the evenings offers some excellent dishes and I have never ever been disappointed with the choice and quality of the food.

The Zing Vaa can, and does, get busy, particular with students, both at lunchtime and in the evenings so service can be a little slow at times. However, considering the sheer volume of customers and the massive selection of dishes on offer, it's not surprising that it may take up to 20 mins for food to arrive at your table. But be assured, it is definitely worth waiting for.

It never fails to amaze me how such a small kitchen with less than a hand-full of cooks can consistently produce such amazing dishes in such numbers day in, day out.

Brian Wells

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Service isnt Brilliant but the Food is Brill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent menu. Well priced. The service is always a little shoddy but the food is always fresh, hot and tasty.

Its a shame the restaurant is on the moor as it looks like social decay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zing Vaa Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Zing Vaa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zing Vaa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.