We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chain restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Sheffield - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Sheffield
383-385 Ecclesall Road, Sheffield S11 8PG, England
+44 (0)114 268 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

For a chain restaurant Sheffield's Cafe Rouge on Ecclesall Rd is the best I have ever visited. I go often and the food and more importantly the service cannot be beaten anywhere. The food is clean, fresh and tasty. The atmosphere is friendly and the place and toilets always clean. It rotates its menu but keeps the favoured. The muscles rival fish restaurants in the area. I getv4/1 Tesco vouchers so it makes it a v cheap night out. Recently I went out side for an e cigarette and they brought me in to say enjoy it inside. Customer service still lives.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    19
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive Coffee House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nipped in for a coffee, nice quirky place but rather expensive. Found the menu a little off putting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice location good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were able to eat outside, not happened too often this summer. The food and service were excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tea time treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have to admit to being a bit fussy when it comes to food so when you find somewhere that is good you tend to return regularly. The staff are friendly and welcome you , they deal with you in a warm manner and always very helpful. The food never fails with a number of signature dishes, so they have my vote for tea. yet to be disappointed, although I always use a voucher so the value is usually very good. I will return as we are in and out within an hour which is just the way we like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went yesterday at 6p.m.Waited 10mins ,were ignored.Eventually asked if we could be seated to be told very abruptly that they were short staffed, food could be a long time coming and don't sit outside we are not serving food out there .It was a beautiful evening.There were 4 other couples dining, so hardly pulled out! We usually enjoy eating here but gave up and went to Mamas and Leonie's instead.They were very busy but gave us a lovely meal with smiley service.We are not impatient people and would have waited had we been seated quickly and possible problems explained politely.We have had impeccable service at this branch of Cafe Rouge on many previous visits---- hope this was a one - off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.