We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Sheffield - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Sheffield
383-385 Ecclesall Road, Sheffield S11 8PG, England
+44 (0)114 268 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went yesterday at 6p.m.Waited 10mins ,were ignored.Eventually asked if we could be seated to be told very abruptly that they were short staffed, food could be a long time coming and don't sit outside we are not serving food out there .It was a beautiful evening.There were 4 other couples dining, so hardly pulled out! We usually enjoy eating here but gave up and went to Mamas and Leonie's instead.They were very busy but gave us a lovely meal with smiley service.We are not impatient people and would have waited had we been seated quickly and possible problems explained politely.We have had impeccable service at this branch of Cafe Rouge on many previous visits---- hope this was a one - off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    19
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“It's a chain restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This Cafe Rouge is as good as any other Cafe Rouge and better than some. Friendly staff and the universal Cafe Rouge food is cooked satisfactorily here. What else to say?!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a difference Good Sevice makes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had some Tesco Restaurant Vouchers that could be used at Cafe Rouge or Strada. We had recently had a terrible experience at Cafe Rouge in the City Centre - St Paul Parade (see my review)
We live near Ecclesall Rd and have visited this Cafe Rouge before and enjoyed it so we thoght we would try it again.
What a massive improovment on our experince in the other branch just a few weeks previously, it was Saturday evening and we were given a table promptly, our drinks arrived speedily as did our starters.
The food was good and the staff gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble.
We were served by Andrea the manager and she was great

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg,MS
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little Expensive, not that impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's okay it's just a bit expensive and the menu isn't that varied, there are better French Resturaunts in Sheffield..it would be nice for a cup of coffee or something light.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. We arrived at about 12.30 on Sunday last and left about 3.00 after having a wonderful lunch. We were never rushed as we ordered courses as we went along. The staff were attentive and efficient and we felt really at home. Very reasonably priced and nice food and wine. I do not understand how reviewers can be negative about this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.