We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean

Mediterranean
271 Sharrow Vale Road, Sheffield S11, England
0114 266 1069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Established over 25 years, The Mediterranean Restaurant serves fresh fish and seafood and authentic Spanish tapas. Fully licensed. Open lunch and dinner Monday - Saturday.Tapas available 12 - 2.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm - 10pm Monday to Thursday.A la carte menu and specials available Monday - Saturday lunch and dinner. Closed on Sundays. Please call to make a reservation.
1 review
“Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had been recomemded by a friend of ours and It didn't disappoint. The food was out of this world. We had live lobster and it was amazing. For the sweet we had Peanut butter parfait which was delicious. We would recommended this restaurant to anyone coming to Sheffield.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    38
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my fiancé have been here on two occasions now, both times being above satisfied. Both of us love travelling and have tried our fair share of sea food, and were shocked to find the best we've had in Sheffield. Its a small place, making the experience real personal, friendly staff, and as some other revues have also said, make it almost feel like you're abroad. Definitely worth going to if you're in to your seafood and don't want to spend to much!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood and very friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent meal at Mediterranean. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are friendly without being pushy. We were a fairly large group for a birthday celebration. In my experience, some restaurants find big groups difficult to manage but our orders were taken efficiently and our meals arrived together. I had squid for starter and paella for main, both of which were delicious. The fish dishes looked better than the meat ones in general which wasn't a problem for me as I love fish. The main menu is quite small but there was a large selection of specials. We had brought a birthday cake with us and they were happy for us to eat it rather than buying dessert. (The desserts sounded lovely so I'll have to return to check them out!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although we live in the Sheffield area, for years now we have always travelled to venues outside the city to get a really nice meal. This, after a number of disappointing evenings trying places more local to us which purported to be "fine dining". We first discovered The Mediterranean completely by accident when browsing the interesting little shops in the Sharrow Vale district. We were very impressed with our meal, great fish dishes, and the super friendly service made us feel so welcome and at home. We then went again for lunch and had some absolutely fabulous tapas, again accompanied by wonderful service. The clincher, that we had discovered an absolute gem of a restaurant, came on our most recent visit when we had a brilliant dinner, enjoying a unique crab starter (one of us had fresh sardines) followed by probably the best lobster we've had in years. The whole experience was unforgettable and the value-for-money undeniable. Needless to say, we'll be going back very soon and the long drive to find great quality will now become a choice thing, rather than a necessity!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very pleasant restaurant, which would not be out of place adjacent to a Mediterranean beach. The location is not really as pleasing as the Med, but the tapas are of a very high standard, and the food is highly enjoyable. We went to visit my son, who is at Uni in Sheffield, and looked on Tripadvisor for a recommendation close to his digs. We found this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We would definitely revisit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.