We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the little things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Arms Hotel
2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let down by the little things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed one night at the Norfolk Arms and had decided to pay an extra £10 for room upgrade, as had already got a reasonable deal by booking last minute - I can understand some people feeling annoyed by higher rates the earlier you book!

The room was nicely decorated and we had a fantastic view across the rolling countryside outside. The bed was really comfortable, and enjoyed a pleasant nights sleep, however left feeling like the whole experience could have been made much more enjoyable by a little attention to detail. Nothing enough to trouble staff during our stay but room was let down by: one of the wall lights not working, tv not tuned properly (I couldn't find half of terrestrial channels!), bathroom cleaning not great, cleaning staff working noisily right outside the door in the morning, and the room being freezing cold when checking in.

Didn't try the food, but from an accommodation perspective, I would stay again but would hope for a few small improvements.

Room Tip: Beware the proximity of the superior room to cleaning cupboard in the mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    14
    11
    17
See reviews for
31
67
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed last weekend for a christening in Sheffield as soon as we walked in we were greeted by friendly helpfull staff, showed to our room in no time at all which was clean and warm.Down stairs in the bar there was a great choice of beers and at the right temperature and we settled down to a nice pleasent evening of drinking and eating. Had a good laugh with the staff,nothing was to much trouble and food was superb.Would definately stay there again and would strongly recommend it to all. Thanks again Mark Ellwood .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great welcome from the start. Staff really friendly.
We ate in the bar/ restaurant that evening - great beer & wine selection available.
Our meals were of a mixed review - the traditional dishes like mixed grill and fish dishes were good - but the vegetarian option was nothing to write home about.
Rooms were very clean & comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel & would stay there again!

Room Tip: Plenty of space in the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We live in Lanzarote and visit the UK about 3-4 times per year, we always stay at the Norfolk Arms. They do not have a lot of staff turnover which is always a good sign for any business, so we know all the staff very well. Everyone is always so welcoming. We have stayed in rooms both inside, and the courtyard rooms and all have been clean and tidy. The breakfast is lovely and a great start to the day, infact every meal we have had there is good. We once arrived very late at night (about 11pm) and it was no trouble for them to provide something for us to eat, although the kitchen had officially closed 2 hours previous. On one of our visits at the beginning of this year, we were chatting with the reception staff when we arrived telling them we were getting engaged during this visit, and they upgraded us to their superior suite free of charge. We appreciate everyones expectations and experience are different, but for us, its a little jewel. Well done everyone, keep up the good work, (and remember when we visit again, alittle more pressure is needed on my partner to book the wedding! hahaha.) See you all again soon.

Room Tip: We like room 4, or any of the outside room in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Before arriving for our weekend stay, the hotel called to say that they had moved us to a larger room as we were being accompanied by our 2 yr old granddaughter . The room we were allocated was really lovely. We had brought a travel cot but found one all ready set up in the room which was very clean with a very comfortable bed and bright, modern decor. The bathroom was clean, modern and had a good supply of toiletries and towels

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, checking that we had everything we needed for our young companion. We ate in the bar on the first evening from the reasonably priced and varied menu. The food was delicious and delivered in a reasonable time. We had breakfast in the bar on both mornings. The choice may not be on the scale of larger hotels but it was more than adequate for what we wanted. There was a minor drama when my granddaughter managed to cover the table with pepper. Staff dealt with this without any fuss whatsoever.

All in all we had a very good experience and were amazed to read some of the less positive reviews on here. We would certainly stay again as we visit Sheffield quite frequently. The hotel has a lovely location and, being smaller has much more character than other larger hotel chains. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkarms, Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much Leslie for taking the time to write about your stay.

Hopefully we'll see the three of you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped Here as an alternative to staying at the venue of a wedding we attended as it was nearby. Wished we had paid the extra now to stay at the venue.

Absolutely buetiful setting in the Peak district but the buety ends there. The Room in which we were put was Filthy !!! Stains all over carpet. Curtains hanging off the rails. Suspicious droppings in the Corner and to top it off when we got into bed the bed was wet !!! Staff quickly Changed the bedding but after that we just could not wait to get out !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkarms, Manager at Norfolk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate guests taking the time to comment. We understand that some guests will not always be 100% happy with their stay, and feel that they should share their experience. We always welcome constructive feedback and we will always act upon guest’s criticisms where appropriate. Happy customers are essential to the survival of our business, and as a team we all work very hard to ensure that guests enjoy their stay with us.

However, we at The Norfolk Arms feel that we must use our right to reply to what we believe to be an inaccurate portrayal of our inn. We believe that the above comments contain some very serious allegations, as well as some biased exaggerations which do not accurately portray the room, or The Norfolk Arms as a whole. Our responses to the above comments are as follows:

The review above describes the room in question as being “filthy”, which we believe to be wildly inaccurate. Each room is carefully cleaned by our regular housekeepers on a daily basis. All disposables are replaced with new, all linen and towels are replaced with clean stock and the room and bathroom are cleaned, polished and vacuumed.

The claim of “suspicious droppings in the corner” is a very serious allegation, and one that we are taking seriously.
On inspection of the room we have been unable to find any evidence of what has been suggested. Our pest control is out-sourced to a local specialist who has looked after the Norfolk Arms for several years. We have never had any problems with pests in the past, and have seen no evidence to suggest that we have one now.
We would have appreciated this being reported at the time, for example when the damp bed linen was being changed (see below). This would have been a very appropriate time to point out the “suspicious droppings” to the business owner, who could have acted immediately on the problem. Unfortunately no mention of this issue was made to any of our staff by the guests at any point during their stay.
**Amendment – please see our Pest Control Services report at the foot of this response**

We have also inspected the “curtain hanging off the rails” issue, as mentioned above. One curtain was found to have come lose from one hook. This has now been rectified.

On inspection, the carpet was found to have a number of small stains around the door area, probably as a result of guests entering the room with shoes muddy from outside. It may be necessary for us to use foot mats in the entrance to each room to overcome this. There are also some small, faint stains which have resulted from spillages on the carpet. We do not consider these to be of a serious nature. Our carpets are vacuumed daily and deep-cleaned regularly, but to deep-clean them after each guest is simply not possible. If a carpet is badly stained after the departure of a guest, our housekeepers will notify the management that deep-cleaning is required.

The above reviewer brought to our attention a wet patch on their bed at around 11pm on the night of their stay. This was immediately inspected by both the owner of the business and one of our team leaders, who found a saucer-sized damp patch on the bed sheet below the pillows. The sheet was immediately changed for a clean one.
The room, as with all of our rooms, had been thoroughly cleaned and furnished with 100% clean, dry bed linen and towels on the morning of the guest’s arrival. As far as we are aware, the only people to have entered the room after it was cleaned where the guests, who had checked in and taken drinks to the room prior to going out for the evening.
After replacing the damp sheet, the remainder of the bed was inspected and found to be completely dry and to the satisfaction of our guests.
After the room was vacated by our guests the following morning, it was brought to the attention of the owner by our housekeepers that there was fresh discolouration below the pillows on the new sheet.
The owner then carried out a full inspection of the room to determine if there were any leaks in the ceiling area above the bed, but none were found.
We are unable to explain how these damp areas came to be. We continue to monitor the room closely for possible roof leaks and would like to apologise to our guests for any distress caused.

We will always accept constructive criticism, and accept blame when we have failed to deliver the service that we promise. In this case we felt that it was necessary to respond in a way that gives some balance to a review that we consider to be inaccurate, biased and potentially damaging to the livelihood of everybody involved with the Norfolk Arms.
We were recently awarded the maximum 5 stars by Sheffield City Council Health Protection Service for cleanliness and food hygiene, which suggests that we take pride and care in the overall hygiene and maintenance of our property.
**UPDATE 01.10.13**
Due to the serious nature of the allegation made re: “suspicious droppings”, we contacted our Pest Control Provider, “Good Riddance Pest Control Services”, who were asked to make an extra inspection of the premises.
The resulting report is shown below:
“Dear Sirs,
We hereby enclose our report after a routine visit to the site on the above date (30th September 2013) and the details are as follows.
A thorough inspection of the site was carried out and there was no signs of any problems of a pest nature.
We were asked on behalf of the company to carry out an inspection of room 1 in the accommodation area and a complete check of the room and toilet area as well as the adjacent corridor was carried out and there was no signs of any pest activity and the entire area was found to be in a clean and proper condition.
We therefore can with full confidence say that the premises listed above are of a good standard of housekeeping and hygiene.
Yours Sincerely
J.G.Taylor”
Good Riddance Pest Control Services (0114 245 8791)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothumberland, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Let me start by echoing other reviewers' comments on the huge discrepancy between the standard rate and the late or "walk-in" tariffs. You can turn up and get a double room B&B for £60 but should you book well in advance the same room will cost you £85 - that's a massive 41% more! Surely booking in advance should get you a better rate shouldn't it?

We booked via LateRooms.com and thought we were getting breakfast but on arrival were told that we didn't get breakfast if we booked through that website, so be warned and check before you hit the "Book Now" button.

Our room was very nice indeed and had recently been redecorated as we guessed by the smell of fresh paint when we entered. There is everything you could want to hand, complementary toiletries, ironing board and iron, hairdrier and a natty "Corby" tea and coffee making set which unfortunately did not have a long enough cable to reach an outlet socket so you had to carry the whole kit and caboodle over to a socket an put it on the floor - Hmm!

Now due to the breakfast fiasco we did not eat here in the morning but neither did we at night as on the day in question (Bank Holiday Monday) service finished at 8pm! So despite booking the Norfolk Arms to avoid Sheffield City Centre we ended up going back into town to eat around 8.30pm. Therefore I cannot comment on the quality of the food apart from saying that the pub was very busy late afternoon/early evening. In fact when we returned for a drink around 10pm the staff were still tidying up around customers which I thought a bit unprofessional. I saw a wooden spoon with the number 54 on it so they are probably trying too hard to get as many covers served as possible. There was also a sign saying "Cask Ales £2 per pint every Monday and Tuesday" but wasn't offered this deal when I ordered my pint!

With a bit of re-thought on the pricing policy and a tweaking of the meals service this could be an outstanding hostelry as it is in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the SE corner of the building and has two windows making it very light and airy. Despit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Arms Hotel

Address: 2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield S11 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and his team warmly welcome you to The Norfolk Arms! Our traditional freehouse pub serves homecooked food, local cask ales and offers beautiful accommodation with stunning function room space. We are set in Ringinglow Village at the gateway to the Peak National Park, with stunning views across the Mayfield Valley.Our 4 Star Grade II listed Coaching Inn is used for conferences, weddings, special occasions and motivational team building events. Our Burbage Bar and Mayfield Restaurant serve traditional, affordable pub food and homemade specials in a friendly welcoming atmosphere, complimented by oak beams and log fires.We offer the perfect destination for a break to indulge in your favourite pastime, explore the breathtaking scenery of the Peak National Park or visit Sheffield's many city centre attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Norfolk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.