We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my hubby, for one night as we were attending a concert x
I would never stay in an Ibis budget again! Bed was awful! Shower dangerously slippery, and toilet well! If your claustrophobic don't stay!! No room whatsoever in there, no bin either x
Suppose it's ok for one night! But not for us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Leandro Carter,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    198
    134
    55
    51
See reviews for
124
164
52
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A place to sleep. Clean, clos3 to tram link. Stayed here for 4 nights which was too long! Very cheap so should have expected it to be very basic really. It would be fine for a 1 night stay but any longer may do your head in!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Budget in Sheffield very soon.
Kind regards,
Leandro Carter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was the perfect option as we were attending a concert in the Motorpoint Arena which is just a couple of minutes walk away. Myself and a friend were queuing long hours for the concert and so staying in the Motorpoint arena meant we could take turns to go back and freshen up or go to the toilet which was great. Also there is a whole a whole complex just 10min walk away including different restaurants, cinema, bowling etc...
In relation to the actual hotel the staff were really friendly, open 24hrs and had a selection of food and drinks which could be purchased at anytime which was great after the concert.
The downfall was the walls in the room were thin so you could hear what was going on, on your floor and I also didn't find the beds very comfortable as it was quite hard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We at the Ibis Budget in Sheffield very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Leandro Carter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

There are pros and cons as with every hotel and I have stayed in plenty from the cheapest to the very expensive.

Pros

Close to Arena
Very cheap
Freview TV - you need to sit on the bed to watch it though
Small 'shop' in reception for snacks, sandwiches, wine, beer etc.
Staff helpful
Rooms clean

Cons

Bed, sink, TV in room. Nothing else - no chair or even a glass
Road fairly noisy
Room walls thin
Bed uncomfortable
Shower and toilet a squeeze
'Shop' very pricy
£4 per day to use the car park

For just a little bit more a night you can get more value and comfort nearby. Those on a budget will find it convenient though

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,
Leandro Carter,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

stayed here as we were watching a show at the arena.
Perfect for a very short walk to the arena, the hotel is basic (but you get what you pay for).
Very clean which is good.
The beds were a bit on small side and hard but for what we paid it did just the trick!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis budget in Sheffield. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Leandro Carter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Used this hotel as an overnight when we went to see WWE in the motorpoint arena. It is literally a few steps away, the staff are very helpful, cheerful and pleasant, the room was clean and although basic, the decor was nice and we had no problem. Had a continental brekkie in the morning - good coffee, nice toast and croissants, no shortage of anything.
If we ever go to Sheffield and the arena again, this is where we would stay :) recommended to anyone who needs a stop-off in the area x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Leandro Carter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed as friends had already booked a couple of weeks earlier at a fab rate of £25. When I came to book it was £50! But wanted to stay at the same place.
This hotel is all about location, very close to arena and tram stop.
Friendly welcome as we were quite giddy, managed to get rooms next to each other. The rooms were small and compact. No carpets. But very clean. The top bunk wasn't made up on our arrival so we just shared the double bed.
Now I know it's a 'budget' hotel but I don't think I paid a budget price. The least I expected was it included continental breakfast or at least coffee/tea making facilities - you can buy these at reception for £1.50.
We did enjoy our stay and I would recommend staying here if you get the budget price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis budget in Sheffield very soon.
Kind regards,
Leandro Carter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena

Address: 298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Sheffield Arena Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.