We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena
298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #38 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed in Ibis hotels before and found them to be a good standard. However I did not realise the huge difference in standard between the standard Ibis and their budget version. This was one of the most basic hotels I have stayed in. There was nothing really wrong with it but nothing really right either.
The location is though absolutely perfect if you are attending an event at the Sheffield arena as it is just a couple of minutes walk and there are lots of eating and drinking places close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Ibis Budget Hotel Sheffield Arena. Ibis Budget hotels are one of Europe’s leading budget hotel products. Ibis Budget hotels offer low-cost hotels with well-designed rooms for up to 3 people, and offer highly competitive value for money. The hotel offers limited parking spaces based on a first arrive basis, we have noted your comments regarding the parking. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena in the future.
Kind Regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    154
    103
    41
    37
See reviews for
102
126
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What was expected, clean but very basic. Rooms were very compact but bright and very presentable. Insufficient car parking available at this Hotel. Hotel reception staff were efficient but not overly welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally.Thank you for your feedack.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife,grandson and I stayed here overnight as we were going to the Sheffield Arena the following morning. Arriving late Saturday evening we were met by a very pleasant receptionist who was extremely polite and helpful. Check in was very swift and the information given was accurate and precise. As this is described as a budget hotel we were not expecting the Ritz however the whole area was immaculately clean and warm, well decorated and had an inviting atmosphere. The room was quite sparse, having only a bed,toilet, shower, washbasin and small tv. Although very adequate for our purpose I would not stay longer than the one night. This is not detracting from the accomodation but if you were staying longer then you would want more luxurious surroundings. The location of the hotel is superb in relation to access to the Arena as it is only two minutes walk away. The Meadowhall Shopping Centre is literally only five minutes drive away, very handy for getting something to eat. A breakfast is available at the hotel at a cost of about £4.25, though this was only cereal/toast etc. We did not sample this so unable to verify quality. Car parking at the hotel is limited and costs £3 per night although further parking is available just outside at £5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Budget Sheffield. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It is really a shame for the friendly staff that the value, room, and sleep quality are so dire at this Ibis. The staff were amongst the best and friendliest I have encountered in a hotel.

If the rate on the room was £29 as the big sign outside advertised, then one would not mind the rock hard bed that has your feet elevated much high than your head, ancient television with a whopping four channels, quirky room layout (roll out of bed and you are in the shower etc. Hey for £29 it would be expected.
HOWEVER, at £60 never again. Nice staff and all.
The Hilton down the street has rooms at the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. The team and I appreciate your feedback,
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The rooms smelt as soon as you walked into them the beds and toilet were filthy staff where rude parking was expensive not impressed at all we had two rooms booked aswell and both where as bad as each other we've stayed at ibis hotels all over the uk but Neva will again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Please accept my apologies regarding the problems you experienced during your recent stay at Ibis Budget Sheffield. I am disappointed that your preoblems were not brought to our attention at our 24/7 reception as this is not a true reflection of the standard in which Ibis Budget Sheffield prides itself. I would appreciate that you contact me at your earliest convenience on Rachel.Heathcote@accor.com to discss and allow me to look into the matter.
Kind Regards
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for an event at Sheffield Arena. It is perfectly located for the Arena and at only £29 for the room, it seemed a bargain. The service from all the staff we encountered was excellent and the room. although basic, was perfectly adequate apart from the beds weren't too comfy. The thing that lets this hotel down is the other guests who made so much noise throughout our stay so we hardly got any sleep. There needs to be someone on shift during the night to control these guests so as not to spoil it for everyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for fedback regarding your recent stay at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we are looking into the matter. Many thanks for the positive comments regarding the team service and hotel product and i will pass on your positive comments to my team. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Sheffield in the future.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here as we were attending an event at the arena. Ideal location for it as it was literally a couple of minutes walk away. The room was very basic, no hairdryer or kettle but we only needed a place to sleep. Somehow we ended up in a disabled room so the bathroom was a wet room which made me feel very uneasy about showering!

The reception staff were all very friendly, parking was good (£3 for all day parking which is a bargain compared to the £5 for arena parking!) and it was a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelHeathcoteGM, General Manager at Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We at the Ibis Budget Sheffield very much appreciate your feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rachel Heathcote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena

Address: 298 Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2AG, England (Formerly Etap Sheffield Arena)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Sheffield Arena Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Sheffield Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.