We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fulwood Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fulwood Inn Hotel
Save
You added The Fulwood Inn Hotel to your Saves list
1 Tapton Park Rd, Sheffield S10 3FG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub food for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a family meal here with kids - great menu (BOGOF for adults) including the extensive Specials Board and excellent kids' menu as well. The portions were very generous and it was all very reasonably priced for a family of four. Staff were exceptionally attentive. Happy to return here anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
31
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Extremely comfortable bed with nice bedding, warm room, powerful new shower with good shower gel, quiet, delicious breakfast with good choice, friendly staff, great location, cheap considering the quality and overall an ideal place to stay. Highly recommended especially compared to other 4 star places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was very disappointed to find that I was expected to pay up front for my 4 night stay, I can't ever remember ever having to do that, as the hotel usually, which they did, has your credit card details. When the reason for my visit to Sheffield was cancelled, at first I was refused a refund and told that I could stay another time, and they would honour two of the nights, but when I persisted I was asked to come back when a manager would be available. On return I was told that I could only reclaim one night, as I had not discussed my arrangements with them by 2 o'clock that day. I was fuming as I was there around about 3, and they'd already clicked an extra night from me. So it turned into a very expensive cancellation for me. So please beware, i will never ever be as trusting again and pay up front, but when you are put under pressure and have no where else to stay, you do daft things !
As you enter the Fulwood the reception is in the bar area, which is not ideal, and sadly the smell of greasy food prevails. There are no lifts, and plenty of stairs and doors. They also have a strange entry and exit arrangement that requires you to use different doors after certain "curfews", and as a lady on my own I was quite unhappy about using a back door!
As you walk up the stairs to the obviously hastily, and cheaply erected bedrooms, there is a terrible odour, not sure what it is, that follows you into the bedroom.
The bedrooms themselves aren't too bad, mine was a double, but only had room for one bedside cabinet. The furniture was not sturdy, so do not know how long it ill last in a hotel bedroom where people aren't so careful, cheap and cheerful i suppose.
The bathroom had a shower and on first glance appeared clean, but when I took a closer look I could see a build up of grime, especially around the shower door, and on the shower head (that insisted on flying off if you had the power too high) Along the tops of tiles and skirting boards were also grimy. You know all the bits that couldn't be cleaned by quickly running a cloth across, the bits you have to jif, bend down, etc. There were no complimentary toiletries whatsoever.
The breakfast was fine, tasty bacon, nice toast etc.

This hotel was suggested to me by the organiser of the cancelled event, and I will certainly be telling them to beware before recommending this hotel to other clients.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the fulwood for three nights. The whole place was so nice and clean,our room was huge with a good,new tv. I have only one small complaint about the room,the bathrooms are all new and modern,large too,so why did no one put in a shower,or at least a shower curtain. Didnt like the hand held shower at all! Management so easy going and friendly to us which style we particularly enjoy. Lots of parking,quiet,brisk walk or short bus ride into city. Ate there one night,not Cordon bleu but two meals for price of one makes sound economic sense. my husband loves the great big breakfast,so that was smashing. Just enjoyed the vibe,such nice friendly people. Will definitely go back when we are in sheffield again.

Room Tip: If you like a shower ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Set in the leafy suburb of Fulwood, this pub provides very good value.
It used to have a terrible reputation, but there must have been a change of manager in early 2012 and since then it's a really good place to eat if you want value for your money.

All the food on the menu is buy one get free all week, so bear this in-mind and factor it in to your expectations of the meal you're going to get. I've eaten much worse food and paid full price and more! I would advise avoiding the red meat and sunday lunch options as the cut of these meats tend to be fairly cheap. However, the other dishes on the menu are good. For example, Chicken, Fish, Burgers, Salads etc. You can also find some real gems on the extensive specials board - the combos are always worth a try.

We tend to go here at least once a month with the extended family and we never come away disappointed. If anything there is too much choice and we normally spend at least 30mins studying the menu and the specials board.

It's a Marsdens owned place so the real ale selection is not great, although the Pedigree is always decent.

One big plus for us is the child friendly nature of the place. There's a little corner set aside for toddlers with a selection of toys to keep them entertained. It's no indoor play - more like the type of think you might find in a docs, dentists waiting room, but it's better than some places and it'll keep the kids quiet for a while.

Outside are 10 or so tables and the elevated and south facing aspect means you can enjoy the late sunshine.

We went today in a party of six, and I can honestly say it was the busiest it's been for at least 3 years. I think the hard work the management and staff have put into improving the food and experience is beginning to pay off and the folk of Sheffield and elsewhere are beginning to realise the Fulwood is definitely a place to get a value for money serving in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Set on a hillside (as most places are in a city built on seven hills) near the vibrant student area of Broomhill, the slightly bohemian Ecclesall Road and the more upmarket Ranmoor, the Fulwood Inn has a great location for out-of-city-centre accommodation – and is within a short taxi ride or bus journey to get to West Street, Leadmill, the Lyceum and Crucible, City Hall and so on.

We tend to stay there when going to football matches (at Hillsborough Stadium, home of Sheffield Wednesday FC) or other big events - and usually book well in advance to get a cheaper rate of around £40 - £50. At this price the hotel feels very good value for money offering clean, modern rooms with a homely feel and a touch of character – on our past two stays, we’ve enjoyed a large, master bedroom with high ceilings and a cosy attic bedroom. Given the rooms are situated over the bar and eating areas, they are very quiet.

Because the Fulwood Inn is ultimately just another northern pub, you can expect a friendly, relaxed welcome - but keep in mind the accommodation is definitely an add-on and the staff don't adopt the same courtesies you would get in a more expensive hotel.

Similarly, the food is very much of the steak and chips, pie and chips, burger and chips, fish and chips variety offering large portions of decent but not mind-blowing quality. If you are staying for the weekend, it is better to get out into the areas mentioned above where you will find a wide variety of restaurants (we particularly enjoy Otto’s Moroccan and the Ranmoor Tandoori).

Breakfast is served in a similar fashion to the lunches and dinners, with a limited buffet of cereal, juice, croissants (of Tesco standard) and the option of ordering a hearty English breakfast. Of course it’s hard to say no to a freshly cooked breakfast on a Saturday or Sunday morning but do be prepared for sausages, bacon, eggs and the like cooked in the kind of way you would expect from a oldschool cafe. There is nothing necessarily wrong with this, unless you come expecting something more exquisite.

The Fulwood Inn is basically a large two-for-one gastro-pub with rooms to rent. Those looking for something more refined, or having paid a higher rate, may be disappointed but those looking for affordable, comfortable no-nonsense accommodation will be more than satisfied.

Room Tip: Make sure you book early, the prices seem to vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cussac, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped off here on the off chance for a quick lunch with my daughter and her friend before we returned to Kendal.
It wasn't too busy and as it was sunny we sat outside with drinks. Although its on the main road it is set back and it wasn't very noisy at all. It wasn't terribly busy, maybe one-third full and our meals were delivered to our table fairly promptly.
Pretty standard pub fare at pretty standard prices.
I could think of worse places to eat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fulwood Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fulwood Inn Hotel

Address: 1 Tapton Park Rd, Sheffield S10 3FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fulwood Inn is a traditional coaching inn with well-appointed, large rooms refurbished with guest comfort in mind and offering flatscreen digital TVs, free WiFi and tea and coffee in the rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fulwood Hotel Sheffield
Fulwood Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fulwood Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.