We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous locations and great hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold Hotel

Save Saved
You added Leopold Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leopold Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopold Street 2, Sheffield S1 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
Lincolnshire
1 review
“Fabulous locations and great hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Really surprising find. Smart, trendy hotel in great location. Clean and comfortable room with all you'd expect and at a brilliant price. Highly recommend. Lack of on site parking was only downside, but there is a secure car park nearby and you can drop your bags by parking temporarily in front of hotel. Loads of restaurants and bars around too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    217
    79
    31
    12
See reviews for
52
239
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The service at this hotel was so bad that I feel compelled to leave a review. I should highlight that I have never felt bothered enough to ever review anything before.

On paper this looks like a great hotel. Good location, nice rooms, stylishly designed. But it quickly became apparent that beauty was only skin deep. I requested hypoallergenic pillows and bedding when I checked in as I allergic to feather pillows & duvets.

When I returned to my room after a long day and evening of meetings, I slumped on my bed only to find that not only were all the pillows feather but the duvet too. It was too late to be bothered to do anything about it, so I spent an unconfortable night with cushions and the covering blanket.

In the morning as I was waiting in the foyer for a taxi I had booked the night before which had not turned up, I asked reception only to be greeted with a gormless look and a promise that it had been booked. 15mins passed - still no taxi and they made me feel like I was being un reasonable when I made the simple request for them to phone the taxi firm.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Billed as Sheffield's first boutique hotel the Leopold is certainly different to anything else that Sheffield currently has to offer. It is a a good small boutique hotel (It's a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of The World) which offers a good location, excellent service from motivated staff and great value for money. On this stay I got one of their top rooms for £110 including taxes, breakfast and wi-fi.
The room that I booked was a mezzanine suite, in hindsight not a great choice when you are trying to negotiate your way down the spiral staircase at 3am to get to the bathroom, and in truth, the downstairs "sitting room" is not much of a space in terms of size or layout. If I stayed again I would book a large double instead of the suite. The room was clean and comfortable, bath robes slippers, safe, i-pod dock, tea/coffee making and water in the fridge. TV had some cable channels but no sky sports and only paid for movies. WI Fi was patchy but free with the suite (I wouldn't have been happy if I'd paid). Staff were great, one of the receptionists ironed my colleagues shirt for him and all queries were handled efficiently and effectively. I didn't eat in the hotel as there are five restaurants in the square immediately behind the property, although I must say that the room service menu did look good with a good amount of choice for a small hotel.
The only drawback was the car parking which is not on-site and whilst only a 5 minute walk away it seemed more like 15 minute drive around Sheffield's wonderful one-way system.
All in all great value for money. I would recommend and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 4th time in 18 months. We love the hotel... the King Size Deluxe Room overlooking Leopold Square still impresses us. The manager placed a lovely card in the room welcoming us back and some gorgeous, "old fashioned" boiled sweeties in a jar. The only thing that seemed strange, and did in fact slightly detract from our Leopold experience was upon arrival mid afternoon on Saturday we weren't able to sit at any of the vacant tables in the bar area as they were set for anyone wishing to come in for afternoon tea. This has never been an issue before. The bar is a nice place to sit and have a glass of wine, people watching over the square.

So is the Leopold bar a bar, or is it a tea room?

That being said, the staff were brilliant as usual and we will still go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I visited this hotel with a group of friends. it was a lovely experience, from the very beginning we were made to feel welcome, the rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable (lovely toiletries!). the hotel is adjacent to a shopping centre, bars, clubs, restaurants and the sheffield 'eye'. i would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

The location of the hotel is perfect for either a city break (right in the middle of the shops and restaurants) or for a business trip (walking distance from the train station).

Converted from an old school or college building my room was a bit of an odd shape and a little small. However I'm sure other rooms are different and therefore some will be roomier than others. Facilities within the room were very good and it was a comfortable nights' sleep. The restaurant menu looked good but I did not dine there.

My welcome was very friendly and the guy who checked me in escorted to the lifts to ensure I knew where I was going.

Unfortunately the service in the bar was the one bad point of the stay. Although they indicated they served cocktails when I asked for a Vodka Martini they almost served me Gin mixed with Vodka!!! (despite having vermouth at the back of the bar). Also in the morning coffee service was very hard to find.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We all went for a weekend as a colleague was moving to a new career it was a most enjoyable stay . The rooms were fantastic and not one complaint was heard about any thing.

Well done the Leopold Sheffield.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel

Address: Leopold Street 2, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.