We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
1 review
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

stayed for a week for work. The staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble and they went above and beyond at times....food very nice rooms clean and comfortable. Would def stay here again. The location was within 5 mins from city centre so some traffic noise but less than I expected staying in an inner city hotel.I feel the only improvement could be basic sky channels in room and free WiFi for people like me here alone on business.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
31
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Travelodge to stay at while we were attending a wedding in Sheffield, and it was okay, although there were a couple of little irritating niggles.

The Good:
The staff were helpful and friendly, both at check in and at breakfast, and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the room was basic, but comfortable. The breakfast was probably more expensive than it would have been elsewhere but you do pay a bit more for convenience and the quality was fine. The location was pretty central and we were able to walk about Sheffield centre relatively easily from the hotel. It was easy to drive to and the reduced rate of parking on offer at the car park next door seemed reasonable. Overall it was an okay place to stay, and providing you can get a good rate I would recommend it, but there were a couple of things that some people may find more annoying than others.

The little niggles:
The shower pressure dropped in and out a couple of times in a relatively quick shower which meant the temperature fluctuated as well; it certainly woke me up sufficiently in the morning! The breakfast is served in the lobby area which means people are coming and going, not particularly a problem, but it can make the area a little busy. The breakfast seemed to be missing a few of the items that were advertised but nothing major; we still had a filling breakfast, and I'm sure if we had mentioned any other items we wanted we would have been directed to them or their absence would have been explained. The hallways, on the fourth floor at least, were incredibly creaky so it was actually quite difficult to walk down them quietly, and bearing in mind this is a city centre hotel the tram can get a little noticeable first thing in the morning.

These things were not major problems while we were staying there, so I felt no need to complain, but if you are a light sleeper it would probably be better not to get a room facing out onto the little green and tram line.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was disgusted at the service I recieved . the staff were very rude and I had to wait 10 minutes to get directions to a local restaurant. The room I stayed in was ok not great standards of cleanliness there was a lot of dust in my room. The best thing about the service was breakfast as the lady serving it was the friendliest of them all. The manager didn't help resolve any issues I raised overall the hotel and service is very poor!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are very sorry to learn that your stay was marred by the attitude of our staff lk2227. We would expect our staff members to be polite, maintain a high level of professionalism at all times, and be helpful to all our guests. We also hope our guests have a comfortable stay with us so it is really regrettable to learn that you were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We expect our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards. Thank you for staying with us and we assure you that all customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good refurbished rooms.Although the family room we stayed looks smaller than many Travelodges we stayed. We were in sixth floor. Bedding and furnishing good. BATHROOM good. Now has shower/body gel and hand wash foam, new addition than the bar of soap.
Evrything good. Staff welcoming

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stay and friendly staff. Good overnight stay with a good nights sleep. Bath is a bit tiny for giants! :) good city centre within walking distance.
Bar is a very light hearted and good service of food and drink. More drink choice could be available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

you had everything you neede for a comfortable stay with genuine staff and excellent customer care .I neede to store my bag after checking out and the staff were very helpful. I was new to the area although I had stayed at the same travel lodge few years ago. All the directions I needed were available from the reception

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely clean room, bed very comfortable, hotel located in good position for town centre. The staff went out of their way to help us with directions by phone to get us there and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. A great stay.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Address: 1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sheffield
Travel Lodge Sheffield
Sheffield Travel Lodge
Sheffield Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.