We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I reluctantly booked into this Travelodge as I had read bad reviews about this company. What a surprise I had! I turned up too early to book in and the receptionist gave me the option of either waiting in their reception area (very clean and comfortable I might add) or leaving my case in their care and taking a look around the area. I did the latter. I eventually returned to the hotel and booked in to a room on the first floor.

The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was in really good order and there was plenty of tea and coffee etc. available. Even the TV worked perfectly on all channels.

The bed was very comfortable with the pillows a mix of hard and soft. The room was very quiet.

Breakfast the next morning offered wide variety and again the staff on duty were very pleasant.

All in all I have to say that if this Travelodge is typical of the chain then they have gained a customer in me. I most liked the way that the staff treated all the customers I witnessed them dealing with as valued customers and that is what we all like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    70
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
45
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel overall clean and services great. Looking forward to breakfast which turned out to be disappointing as all items were cold even when fresh was brought in.Thought we could have cereal but the two boxes I picked up were out of date so I gave up.The apple juice was tasteless which was a pity. The catch on the bedroom window was faulty and let traffic noise and wind in but nothing was done about it.Thank goodness the heating worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review Cheryll W. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard so it is regrettable to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of the food on this occasion. We are sorry to learn that the window in your room was broken; we would expect all windows to close correctly and to be checked regularly by our hotel staff. We also expect that if any issues are raised during your stay the hotel staff would be able to provide a resolution and provide high levels of service. We will ensure to pass on your feedback to the Hotel Management team which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We found this Travelodge to be very convenient for the railway station, town centre and the canal. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The new bed was very comfortable. In summary, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for location to Ponds Forge Swimming Pool and City Centre.Parking is right next door adjacent to the hotel and good value for city centre rates. Its easy to find driving in to the City and a short, safe walk across to the pool. Would recommend to anyone using Ponds Forge or city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, Europe
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I needed to go to the university and this was a good choice for me. It was convenient for the train station even with two heavy wheeled suitcases. You just walk past ponds forges and the station is opposite.

Apart from that, what can I say? It is a Travelodge I was a bit bothered by a smell from the bathroom sink pipe, but only when using the sink. I am pretty sure that I will go again.

I have now been to two travelodge, premier inn and the ibis in Sheffield. I would really say that they are all good choices. There is no difference in quality, it is just price and location at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a large group of friends (60) visiting Sheffield for the weekend and the location of the hotel was ideal for those driving and coming by train or bus. the hotel offered us and our party everything we needed from a budget hotel chain and i am more that sure we would use this hotel again when our friends are next in the city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel, is clean, centrally located and good value for money, but does need some investment in guest satisfaction, why did someone answer the phone at the desk, but not deal with the situation?? therefore delaying us a further few minutes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review gotoseeparis. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be good value. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so we are truly sorry that this did not happen during your stay and that there was a delay at the desk. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of proving a quality service to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel

Address: 1 Broad Street West, Sheffield S1 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sheffield
Travel Lodge Sheffield
Sheffield Travel Lodge
Sheffield Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.