We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“premier stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36 to your Saves list
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36
Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £47
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“premier stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was my second time in a premier inn, the staff where very nice and helpful. My husband and I would without a doubt stay in one again. I would say that the food in the taybarns was not good at all. We had a 40 min wait first and when we did eat found the food was dry and tasteless.we would not eat in another taybarns again. The tables where dirty and the floor had food all over. Overall the stay in the premier inn was really comfortable,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good Morning, Thankyou for your kind comments regarding the Premier Inn it is always delightful to hear how well the team are doing to make our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep. We would look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Tom and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    67
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
79
72
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Cheap and very clean, Good breakfast as much as you want to eat. I fully reckomend this Hotel for a nice relaxing break,the staff are so friendly and helpful.If you are still hungry after your breakfast I do not know what would fill you up.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with double beds and an extra pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good Morning, thanskyou for your fantastic review of our hotel. I am pleased you found the room and the staff to be brilliant, and that you enjoyed the all you can eat premier breakfast to its fullest! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again, Kind Regards Tom Wilkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel but we were very disappointed with our stay. The room smelt of stale smoke and there was a fusty kind of smell in the room, we looked everywhere to find where this smell was coming from (even the towels smelt smoky, so obviously hadn't been changed) and were disgusted to find old sick on the draw curtains!! When we told the receptionist she said "There were some drunks in that room last night" We did get moved to another room and refunded our nights stay but after sending a complaint to premier inn we've heard nothing back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good Morning , I am sorry to hear of your dissapointment with your recent stay with us here at Sheffield Barnsley and this is not something that is normal with our hotel, as can be seen by other fantastic reviews. I can assure you the towels had been changed in the room, and the room cleaned to a high standard, although on this occasion I am sorry for the mistake that led you to be checked into this substandard room. I will be picking up the comments made by the receptionist, I am pleased youy were refunded as per our good night guarantee and moved to a better room, although I have been trying to get into contact with you recently if you could email or call us at 01226 350035 / sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com to resolve this, Warm Regards Tom Wilkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

To the lady who said she didn`t have a good nights sleep ,my husband is disabled and very hard to please but we had the best nights sleep ever and if we had wanted bubble bath we would have gone and bought some?The staff were very pleasant and we made the mistake of not asking for a downstairs room but have been told to ask next time which will be in a couple of weeks,The meals were absolutely delicious,hope to see you soon Barnsley /Tankersley

Room Tip: Please state what you want to the staff and they will gladly help you ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Good Morning, thankyou for your kind and honest review. I am pleased you found that the staff will always go out of their way to make guests geel brilliant, and we hope to do so when you return in a few weeks time. Warm Regards Tom and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The beds are neither comfortable nor quiet.There was no bubble bath as in the advert. Overall it was the worst nights sleep i`ve ever had away from home.Won`t be bothering again.The rooms are too hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your recent experience with us here at Premier Inn. I must note we do not advertise, or provide bubble bath but only shower, hair and body wash and hand wash in all of our rooms, although if you would have liked some this could have been arranged for you. Further to this reception is 24 hours a day as mentioned on check in and we would have been more than happy to move your room, or even change the mattress for you if you found the bed to be uncomfortable as we have done for other very satisfied guests. Again with the hot room if you had let us known we could have sorted this for you. We do have a good night guarantee, and you are entitled to a refund, please email sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com - Regards Tom Wilkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

On arrival the lady receptionist (Laura) was good on giving us a ground floor room as my wife is semi disabled and is not good at negotiating stairs.The room NO 22 was clean ,tidy and the breakfasts in the morning at the Taybarn was good ,and again the staff were very helpful.Please let them know of our comments.

Grant & Alison Mckenzie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Good Morning - firstly thankyou for mentioning Laura by name, this is fantastic that she left a brilliant lasting impression on yourselves. I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards Tom and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I do like the Premier Inn chain. As is standard, the rooms were clean and big. TV was a huge flat screen and shower perfect after a day in the peak district (15-20 minute drive). I will also mention the very friendly reception staff. Here is what made this particular Premier Inn a bad experience for me and my partner. It's rough. It sounds like an unfair thing to say, but this comes hand in hand with bad situations. Some locals found it hilarious to get steaming drunk and run through the hotel banging on doors and laughing and I know they were not guests because they eventually left and were out in the car park hitting other things including cars and then made their way off down the road. We were also in shock when we went in to the 'restaurant' next door. After squeezing through the 15 people right outside the main door smoking their fags we felt like we were all of a sudden at Jeremy Kyle. Cheap, yes, but I would have paid more to be somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasWilkins, General Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Good Morning, thankyou for the kind words at the start of your review. I must stress that we do not under any circumstances let any non-residents and especially members of the public into our premises, as they need a key to gain entry into the hotel. If you could please email me at sheffieldbarnsley.pi@premierinn.com so I can review the corridor, car park and grounds cctv so I can find those responsible especially as they were hitting cars in the car park, and also to discuss the restaurant feedback. I look forward to hearing from you, Tom Wilkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36

Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.