We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly faded, smells of smoke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36 to your Saves list
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36
Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £47
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Slightly faded, smells of smoke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First off, the staff are friendly and welcoming, both in the hotel and the adjacent Taybarns restaurant, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. However, the covered crossing between hotel and restaurant provides shelter for smokers escaping the no-smoking hotel, and the result is that the smell of smoke pervades the entranceway, lobby and first corridor in the hotel itself. Rooms currently have only old, thin double glazing, which doesn't keep out the road noise. Premier Inn breakfast in Taybarns was slightly disappointing: the all-you-can eat buffet style of the restaurant means that cooked breakfast items are laid out on hot-plates, which keep everything decidedly tepid and lead to overcooked eggs and dry bacon. And that at 7am on a weekend morning as first guest in for breakfast. The family-friendly Taybarns formula in the evening is not for me on business, especially packed with families in the evening, and I went elsewhere to eat. The attraction of Taybarns to families on a Friday and Saturday night mean the hotel car park is therefore quite full.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    67
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
79
72
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Higham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a Saturday night. We had won tickets last minute to watch Boxing in the Motorpoint Arena but as we only found out 4 days before all the closer hotels were booked so this was the closest we could find.

The hotel is easy to find not too far off the M1 so great for getting in and out of Sheffield.

The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy and I felt like they must have been refurbished recently. It was a little cold and even when turning up the temperature control on the wall this didn't seem to make much difference, there was a radiator which we switched on and that did warm it up a little but this was quite far from the bed and only small so the room was quite chilly.

We arrive an hour before we could check in but the receptionist said our room was ready so we were welcome to check in early which was great after our long drive. All the reception staff were really friendly.

The restaurant opposite was fine for breakfast, it wasn't up to the usual excellent standard of a premier inn breakfast and they seemed to run out of things quite a lot, I didn't see anyone able to get everything they wanted the first time round without having to wait for something to be cooked, but it was good value and edible. We didn't have dinner here, it smelt nice from the outside but couldn't comment on that.

Overall hotel was great, restaurant was OK but could do with improvement as other Premier Inn's serve much better breakfasts and service in them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location just off motorway. As usual, staff very friendly and hotel room clean and tidy. However we found that the heating didn't work. the thermostat wouldn't go beyond a certain level and in any case the radiator generated no heat at all. We reported this to the receptionist, who came up, looked fiddled and agred that it didn't work. She brought us an extra duvet, which was OK if we were cold in bed. However, the problem was before then. It was uncomfortable just reading or watching TV. We were glad we hadn't visited the previous week as the weather was significantly colder then. There probably wasn't much the lady could have done att he time but don't they check things regularly? We have stayed at a number of Premier Inns and this was our first problem. Hopefully an isolated occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rooms at front of hotel are quite noisy. Good sized rooms and great nights sleep. Used to get priority booking in the restaurant as hotel guests but this has been removed and we had to join the large queue and wait for 35 mins to be seated. Hotel guests want to feel special and not be forced to join long queues to eat, even had to wait for 10 mins to get a seat in the bar to wait for our restaurant table. This was at 7.30pm on a Friday so goodness knows how long you would wait on a Saturday or Bank Holiday. Spoiled our break. Priority seating used to make us feel like pampered guests. Used to love to stay in this hotel, will consider our hotels in Sheffield in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, Rutland.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here before his steam train drive the next day. It's very handy for Elsecar Heritage Centre, where the trains are located.
I had asked for a quiet room. we were given a very quiet one at the end of the ground floor corridor. It contained a double and a single bed. The whole hotel is very clean and modern with white and purple furnishings. There is a huge wall-mounted TV in the rooms and the bathrooms are well kitted out with soap and shower gel; an unexpected bonus at the price, which was very reasonable. There's even a choice of pillow firmness and tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.
We've never stayed before at a Premier Inn and will definitely do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one at the back, way from the car park and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We often stay in Travelodges and couldn't get one in the area for the night we needed so booked this Premier Inn instead. Forjust £5.50 more, we felt the whole experience was far superior and in fact plan to use Premier Inn from now on!

The hotel decor etc looks very new. The kingsize bed and all the bedding was delightful and we all slept really well. Our 4 year old got a proper single bed in our room not a sofabed/pull out and it was made up for us which was fantastic after a very long drive.

It was nice to have a hot bath (plenty of hot water and big towels) and there was a hairdryer and tea/coffee in the room as well.There was a huge TV with freeview to watch in bed.

We were not disturbed by any other guests even though it was a Friday night. Both staff members we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. What more could we want?

Due to the poor reviews of theTaybarns restaurant next door, we avoided it! We found a great spot about 6 miles away. Come off the M1 at Junction 34 and about 1 mile away you find a complex where the Metrodome Arena is. There are around 20 restaurants, cinema, bowling etc including Nandos, Harvester, Chiquitos, Pizza Express, Frankie and Bennys, Gourmet Burger Co, Rib Shack, McD's, B King. We ate at the Harvester and it was superb. Great food and great value. All less than 10 minutes drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a nice clean modern convenient place to stopover for a few nights. The room we stayed in was clean and quite spacious. The staff were very helpful. The downside to our stay was the awful eatery next door. We did with a bit of guidance find a very pleasant pub that did a very good steak, but of course it was a drive away. There is a McDonald's an easy walk away but it isn't exactly a resteraunt of note is it?

Room Tip: We stayed at the front and it was a bit noisy but the sun was nice to wake up to on the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36

Address: Maple Road | Tankersley, Barnsley, Sheffield S75 3DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M1. For shops and local amenities Sheffield city centre is 8 miles away; closer still Barnsley town centre is just 5 miles away. Conveniently situated 3 miles from Chapeltown train station. Our Sheffield / Barnsley Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Taybarns restaurant offering amazing choice at amazing value. M1(J35a), northbound exit only. Then A616 for 2 miles, or from (J36) take A61 to Sheffield. Hotel is 1 mile along, on next roundabout. Next to Taybarns, the Ultimate Eatery; opposite McDonalds and Shell filling station. Food served from 11:30am-21:30 Everyday (table bookings reccomended) Breakfast Mon-Fri 6:30-10:30am Sat-Sun 7-11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley - M1 Jct36, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.