We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitten alive by dirty mattresses and bed linen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harley Hotel to your Saves list
Harley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bitten alive by dirty mattresses and bed linen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When booking at the Harley you expect a bit of noise; maybe the sound of vomit on the pavement outside at 4am. This you would normally take in your stride as adding to the experience.
The Penthouse we booked was ironic. Walls that were so dirty, in one part there looked like there was blood on it. Toilet roles left at the front door for us and then to top it off the delight of making your own beds. The duvets and pillows were filthy and 4 of my party left having been bitten alive.
On emailing to give feedback; I am yet to receive a response. A Holiday Inn is only a little more expensive and offers much better service and Hygiene.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is a sham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good Morning,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Harley Hotel.

Whilst we appreciate that clearly you were unhappy with your stay, have looked at in detail and can't agree with the complaints you've made and would like the chance to reply to the claims you've made:

The walls are not dirty. The whole Penthouse was re-decorated less than two months ago, and after checking thoroughly, no traces of any dirt or blood were found on the walls - blood on the walls would be a serious problem and I'm not sure where this could be?. If you have any pictures, we'd be interested to see them. Please send them to hotel@theharley.co.uk.

Clean linen and bedding is provided by a reputable linen firm for use on our beds and was put out fresh for that day. The linen was set up for the 2 normal beds, but as the remaining beds were actually sofabeds, we couldn't have made these up in advance or you wouldn't have had anywhere to sit!

With regards to insect bites; Managers from the bar and hotel stay in the Penthouse on a regular basis during the weekand none have complained of any bites. Similarly, we have had no complaints from any other customers about this. Routine pest control sprays are conducted in The Harley, as they are in every hotel.

In terms of value, for a group of 8 people that comes to 20 pounds a night, something we feel is very good value on a Saturday in a town centre

Again, we would like to express our disappointment in the fact you didn't enjoy your stay, and wish you would have voiced your concerns to a member of our staff over the weekend, so they could rectify any issues you may have had on the spot.


Thank you for your feedback, we really would love to speak to you to discuss this

Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    18
    11
    41
See reviews for
8
12
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading the reviews we were dreading our stay at the Harley, however from the second we arrived we had top service from the hotel receptionist, who ran up and down checking if the room was ready for us and everyone behind the bar was friendly and polite throughout our time there. We rented the penthouse, which since these pictures were taken has had a huge revamp, with a practically sparkling bathroom and brand new sofa beds. The linen and towels were immaculately clean and the flat had obviously been cleaned well before we arrived. For the £23 we paid each (£160 for 7 of us) we got free entry into the lively bar downstairs and a free double drink each which basically meant we paid a grand total of £15 each for a hilarious stay. The hotel/bar/club/restaurant is thriving all through the day and night giving it a lovely atmosphere and its a literal 5 min walk from all the major shops, bars and restaurants. All my mates went to bed at 1am and slept fine, but what id advise is, stay up till 4am and enjoy the fact u have a 3 second walk to your bed after partying in The Harley. If your young, bouncy and like something a bit different then give it a go, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Harley Hotel.

We're extremely happy you enjoyed your stay here, and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

the pub was fine great choice of ales the strawberry lager is worth a try and the burgers great.. The staff helpful and polite the girl on reception did all she could to help.The room dated and a little dirty not as bad as photos on here the bed comfy towels and linen clean.The downside is there is a disco untill 4am and you cant escape it in your room.The breakfast next day included in your stay was excellent. The location good for getting out and about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the only hotel I could book a room in for our trip to see Meatloaf. Read the reviews after booking and was dreading it. Hotel was actually acceptable for the £54 (inc breakfast) for all 3 of us to stay! It was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was yum! The photos on here appear to be old so no blood stained carpets and walls for us. I would defo stay here again for a cheap night away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The harley is by no means a luxurious hotel - you get what you pay for. At just £29 per night including breakfast, it is well worth it! It is right next to the University, and all relevant locations in Sheffield are just a short walk away. The rooms are not large or comfortable, they just about suffice. One point of note though - the breakfast is great! Full English, with a veggie option, very tasty and filling!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing Glossop Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Harley for one night - cheap but not so cheerful. The evening staff (Claire?) was very friendly and helpful - even searching for a hairdryer for me and moving me up to the top floor so I would not be kept awake by the loud music - thank you! The bedlinen and towels were very clean, but the actual pillows were ready for the bin - I wrapped a towel around them before sleeping. The carpets were stained and the walls marked and grubby. The frames of the double glazing were there, but no glass. I should have asked to see the room before paying - but I did not. The bathroom was clean on the surface but the tiles around the bottom of the shower were black and filthy - removed after 15 minutes of soaking in the domestos I bought at the Sainbury's 2 minutes away. I left without sampling breakfast - if the bathroom was so grubby, then I did not want to think what the kitchen might be like.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed to hear that your experience here wasn't entirely a positive one.

The hotel has undergone some refurbishment since your stay, including decoration, so we can assure you that if you came back, you'd notice a big difference.

The bathrooms have been a major focus of our recently, we've been resealing and re-grouting, so again there's a huge difference.

Our breakfasts are lovely (if we might say so ourselves), so it's a shame you didn't get the chance to try one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I loved staying at The Harley. its so cheap and defiantly convenient for young people. its perfect place to be able to start your night with the bar/nightclub downstairs and an awesome place to come back too after you've hit the town too. id recommend The Harley Hotel to anybody my age or any students, its just a good experience, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Their customer service levels are of a high standard and its a place you could make great friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here, and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.