We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harley Hotel is great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harley Hotel to your Saves list
Harley Hotel
334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Harley Hotel is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I loved staying at The Harley. its so cheap and defiantly convenient for young people. its perfect place to be able to start your night with the bar/nightclub downstairs and an awesome place to come back too after you've hit the town too. id recommend The Harley Hotel to anybody my age or any students, its just a good experience, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Their customer service levels are of a high standard and its a place you could make great friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here, and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    17
    10
    35
See reviews for
8
11
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I love the Harley. Totally cheap, and close to the city centre. Probably not the best if you want to get a quite night of sleep, but if you really want to embrace your time in Sheffield (or simply can sleep through anything) then definitely stay here!!
Well located, and the staff are really friendly! The bar and restaurant are award winning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Don't choose the Harley if you want a quiet nights sleep, do choose if you want to indulge on West Street and want to continue the party afterwards.

Dated, tired but comfortable.

Breakfast is good value

On street parking is available on Hounsfield Street for about a pound per hour but is free between 18:30 & 08:00, the machines roll your cash on to the following day so put £2.50 in after six and you'll be ok until after breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Seriously, it's not a hotel, it's a doss house! The place is so run down and knackered why do they even bother! Cheap or not I object to stained carpets, wallpaper hanging off walls, windows that don't open at all (not even for ventilation) toilets that fill all night, curtains that are hanging off! We had two rooms and they were both as bad as each other. The noise from the bar was unbareable and we were on the second floor god know's how the people on the first floor managed! I would give it one plus, for all it's run down look, it was very clean! Sheets, towels etc. were clean and the room was spotless though our stained carpet and broken duvan bed (no casters, just on to the floor) was simply evidence that this place needs closing down! I wish i'd listened to my gut and stayed in nether edge for a tenner less and spent the money on a taxi, which is what I would advise anyone that even thinks about staying here to do!

Room Tip: Don't stay here in the first place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at The Harley Hotel.

Since your stay, the hotel has undergone some refurbishment, if you would like to try us again, I can assure you you will notice a big difference.

The noise from the bar can be an issue, this is why we explicitly advertise the fact that we have a late bar.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel should be shut down. I don't know how it can even call it's self a hotel. It's more of a night club with dirty rooms over it. Room had a missing tile on roof, smelly blood stained carpet, shower was dirty did not used, no holder for toilet roll, dirt on walls, bedding dirty, muck behind beds plus tv remote, next morning u have your breakfast on dance floor from night before which I did not eat as smell put me off, noise from bar until 4am so no sleep but to fair they did warn us of that. It's not fit to be hotel And cost us £49 pound Shall post some photos later

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarley123, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are unhappy to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at The Harley Hotel.

Unfortunately, as your stay was quite a while ago now, we are unable to confirm or deny the points you raised regarding cleanliness, however, the hotel has recently undergone some refurbishment, so I can assure you that you will not find dirty walls or smelly blood-stained carpets.

The linen is cleaned by a specialist linen provider so it is disappointing to hear that you found it dirty, though we have started inspecting the linen more thoroughly since your visit.

Thank you for your feedback, and if you'd like to visit us again, I can assure you that you'd find the experience an overall more pleasant one.

Kind Regards,

The Harley Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I am by no means a hotel snob, I am a Sheffield lass born and bred and I actually love The Harley as a venue for a night out. HOWEVER...having stayed here as a last-minute, cheap option, I can't believe this place allows itself to call itself a hotel! It is disgusting. Filthy doesn't even begin to describe it. I just don't understand it, they must make a decent profit, so why not just gut all the rooms, add a coat of paint and some cheap ikea furniture, do (lots) of renovations, employ a cleaner...they could be quids in! It's a great location and a great bar, and they must be aware of all the terrible reviews and people requesting refunds that something isn't right!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

For all the negative comments I think it's just been people with wrong expectations. Ideal for people doing nightshifts as when you get in the bar downstairs is kicking out (4am on a week day) but yeah probably not for the daytime buis person ! It's a young folks place, breakfast included and spot on and only 25 quid a night. Couldn't ask for more for this price . Agreed I wouldn't have been happy if the room was dirty or the bathroom but it's fine, no grime ! . Good water pressure too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.