We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our second stay at the Mercure for a night out in Sheffield. On this occasion, we had the package including an evening meal and wine and breakfast. Speedy check-in by pleasant staff, who booked our evening table for us.
The room fairly clean (some dusty areas) and well equipped on the 4th floor with a good city view, bath and shower, safety deposit etc.
The evening meal was from the three course set menu and we both had upgrades for the rib-eye steak that was perfectly cooked and presented. The complimentary house wine was also fine. The waiter was particularly pleasant and chatty, and there was a friendly atmosphere with several other diners in the restaurant.
We had a peaceful quiet night's sleep and although the buffet breakfast was well presented, some items suffered the usual buffet problem, and could have been a little hotter.

Room Tip: Fifth or fourth floor with city views are the best, some with windows on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you had booked on a dinner bed and breakfast package and everything was to your satisfaction. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    460
    163
    70
    39
See reviews for
200
494
92
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the St Paul's Hotel for my brother's wedding. I decided to stay 2 nights as this would allow me to stay the night before the wedding and the wedding night.

Upon arrival, the hotel was everything and more than I expected. The interior is absolutely beautiful and the reception staff were very friendly. (NOTE: there is a £50 per night deposit taken from either a credit or debit card when checking in, which is basically to cover any bills from the bar and so on. We were not told about this charge so for anyone looking to book in future, be aware of this! If you don't spend anything on tab or from the mini bar, you do get the money back. Although it's not available from your bank during the stay.)

The rooms are very spacious, clean and have everything you could possibly think of.

Everything about the hotel was brilliant besides the busy breakfast time. We had to ask 3 times for a cup of tea and we received no apology about this from the staff who seemed very stressed and ignorant towards us.

Also, whoever the wedding planner was on the day (I haven't managed to catch her name from my brother and his wife), she was very unreliable and unorganised. To me, organisation is vital when it comes wedding planning, so she was a real let down. The reason for this was all throughout the day of the wedding she would approach the groom and bride themselves about any "complications", whereas wouldn't it be more appropriate to speak to the mother of the bride or groom?? Whom, I must add, offered to take care of any issues. Another issue was the music on the big day, the groom provided a CD a week before the wedding, only for the wedding planner to turn round and say it wasn't working an HOUR before the wedding and she forgot to check it before!!! Anyhow, the day was brilliant, and the wedding was amazing, it's just a shame about the lady wedding planner and her attitude.

P.S. the spa area is one of the best features of this hotel! It's so relaxing and well thought out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I have noted all your feedback and will take any appropriate action. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Second stay at St Paul's. Excellent, friendly staff all wanting to chat and ensure you have a pleasant stay from the moment you arrive. Spacious and modern rooms with great facilities and views. Very clean. Best location in Sheffield by far, with great views of the city and an easy walk to anywhere you want to be. Gym, pool and spa facilities are great too. Wish we had stayed longer and will definitely be returning to this gem of a hotel. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Sheffield.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with double aspect windows for maximum views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is a pleasure to read such feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay here. Although we only used the hotel for a quick pit stop, it more than met our needs. Reception staff were efficient, courteous and welcoming. Lobby areas and bars are extremely smart with the added bonus of adjoining the lovely Sheffield Wintergarden.
Bedrooms are clean, smart and spacious, with roomy bathroom and strong shower. Ours overlooked the Peace Gardens, which provided a very nice view.
We ate at the adjoining Ego restaurant, which was fine and had after dinner drinks in the lovely hotel lobby bar.
For a city centre hotel the location was really quiet and relaxing, yet within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and shops.
We ate breakfast in a nearby cafe, Marmadukes, which was excellent and much better value than the hotel's offerings. All in all a really good hotel, especially as we got a great deal thru Lastminute

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely reveiw of your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Hotel - We were delighted to read your comments and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for one night over this August bank holiday after a previous stay the year before. Everything was excellent yet again. We arrived early, expecting to leave our luggage in reception, have a wonder and return later to book in, but we were offered a twin room straight away, we declined and said we would wait for a double, which was not a problem. We had only gone a few yards outside the hotel only to receive a phone call from reception to say our double room was available. Room was fantastic with views overlooking the theatres (double windowed room 134). Nothing was too much trouble. We used the gym and the spa facilties, again all lovely and cream tea for two the next day was divine!! Such a good location, very central.

ALL the staff were extremely helpful, especially Sandeep (I think that was his name) on reception, all were very pleasant and professional. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends, family and colleagues.

We will definitely return, sooner rather than later hopefully !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I was delighted to read your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the minute we arrived was made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble.SpeciaI thanks to Phil the concierge. Reception Was excellent especially as we had lots of rooms booked in the same name. Room was huge, well appointed and very clean. Actually finding the hotel by road Was a challenge so signage may have to be addressed as satnavs are not infallible with the one way system in sheffield.As a wedding venue was excellent, the happy couple walked back from the church. Food good, service a little slow, staff very attentive but needs the air con on when changing function room setting. All staff enthusiastic and willing to help, praise for Dave James and Marvin for breakfast and Sandjeep on reception. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Find the car park first and walk. It will save a lot of stress
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your family wedding weekend at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It was a pleasure to read such feedback and I will ensure the team are fully aware of the feedback given. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Two night stay in a standard double. Nice large room with excellent walk in powerful shower in bathroom. Quiet and clean. Car parking a bit awkward (200 metre to recommended car park) but reception swaps your token for one of theirs, giving an overnight charge of £6.50. Location is very central with lots of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mercure St Paul's Hotel and Spa. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.