We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“It's all in the detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Becoming a regular stay in Sheffield. The hotel is perfect for any city visitor but be warned they don't have on site parking. The staff and service are excellent and certainly in keeping with the mecure brand. Just a few small details letting it down.
Power sockets or a complete lack of near the bed for plugging in phones that the modern traveller uses as alarm clock.
Lighting. There is an up lighter and two bedside lights in the main bedroom area. The up lighter is only controlled by its own switch. On two occasions now the bed site lights have had low wattage bulbs in and give me eye strain to read by.
For security reasons I'm unhappy that the fire escape door in the stairwell appears to be unalarmed and used as smokers corner.
Good food and a well stocked and staffed bar.
Overall very good but just a few niggles.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    385
    140
    60
    29
See reviews for
152
379
83
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Mercure Hotel, Sheffield is one of my favourite hotels. From the reception to the bar. From the rooms to the Spa. Can't be faulted as far as I am concerned. Look out for offers and enjoy one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels, certainly in the UK, if not the world.

Room Tip: Look out for those deals for a night out at the theatre or bar hopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Best night away ever,room with fantastic view over Sheffield and beyond.Spa was wounderful,breakfast great with lots of choice what more can i say.WILL DEFO BE STAYING AGAIN.Shops bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Girly spa weekend with 8 friends. The hotel itself-lovely. Rooms bigger than I expected. Dining experience--what a fantastic dining area. You'll have to google pictures as description doesnt do it justice!! and the food and service was excellant. Hotel staff were at all times very helpful and courteous. Lovely cuppa and scones in the bar area before we left too. Great location for access to Sheffield and very handy for SHeffield rail station- a fast 5 minute or ambling 10 minute walk away. Couldnt fault the hotel at all.
It only lost my 5/5 because the spa itself I felt is looking a bit tired. Staff and treatments at the spa were definitely full marks but we all thought the actual steam rooms/grottos/experience shower etc were rather average and no jacuzzis at all?! Think the Accor group need to look at revamping the spa facilities.
All in all, a great relaxing weekend away that I would recommend but I would not have wanted to have paid a high premium for the spa facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked a month or so in advance via Late Rooms to stop here for the night in order to attend a friends birthday celebration. Arrived at reception to be told that they did not have a room as there had been an error. Whilst waiting for the (acting) manager to come out to us, at leats 6 other parties checked in to their rooms, and when I questioned why this could happen, I was told that this was because they had "confirmed bookings" and ours was only a third party booking. He could not explain why my email, confirming the booking was not good enough - even though we had arrived first. He offered to move us to the Novotel across the road, but I refused as we had booked to use the spa facilities at the Mercure specifically. After 45 minutes of phone calls to Late Rooms, a "heated debate" in the reception where the manager threatened to call the police(!) and various buttons being tapped on various computers he came out to tell us that a room had miraculously been found.
Once in, it has to be said that the stay was good. The room was large and clean, the bathroom spacious and the views from our corner room were great across the city. The spa was a nice way to relax for an hour, even though the aroma room was out of order. If there was any complaint the bed was a little hard.
We were given a complimentary breakfast for our troubles, and again, the selection and quality were very good.
Unfortunately, the stay had been tainted by being made to feel like a second class customer at the very start. I would be weary about stopping in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room for a double aspect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure St Paul's Sheffield. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wanted a hotel near to City Hall for my son's graduation and this seemed to be the nearest. So glad I picked the Mercure St Paul's as it was fabulous.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly and we were upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the Peace Gardens. A special mention should go to the concierge - Philip.
Everywhere was extremely clean and modern.
We had breakfast and meals in both the bar and the restaurant and the food was so good. Had my best dessert ever!
They were shooting a tv series nearby and afew of the stars were staying in the hotel.
Location was great, in the middle of theatres and main shopping.
If I ever need to stay in Sheffield again this would be my first choice. It has made me look at Mercure hotels in other cities aswell if they are all run to the same standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa E, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Luisa Esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel

Address: 119 Norfolk Street, Sheffield S1 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 4 star hotel offers 163 en suite rooms in the heart of Sheffield. Just minutes from the railway station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and Peak District are all a short drive away. 650 capacity conference centre and banqueting rooms, The Yard restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, snail shower, ice fountain and technogym. High speed Internet access and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Paul`s Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Accor St Pauls Sheffield
St Pauls Hotel Sheffield
Mercure Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.