We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early deal and great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton By Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton By Hilton Sheffield to your Saves list
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bar Green, Sheffield S1 2DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great early deal and great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great value for money on a early booking deal. Great location on the edge of the city center, ideal for exploring. The room and staff were great and made for a enjoyable stay. Breakfast was included and offered a wide selection of foods...only small draw back was a severe lack of seating in the busy morning!

Ideal for our needs, will return again on a similar deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that your room and our staff "made for a great stay", our team here really strive to ensure each of our guests have a fantastic experience when you stay. Our breakfast area has over 85 seats, with a variety of different seating options to suit your taste, whether you enjoy your breakfast at a breakfast bar, your sofa or even at the dining table Hampton Sheffield offers guests the opportunity to enjoy Breakfast the way you have it at home. Thank you for your review and we hope to see back in Sheffield soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    85
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
92
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Absolutely terrible hotel this. The staff just can't be bothered with guests.

Might as well talk to a brick wall.

It's over priced for what it is and is in a terrible and scary part of town.

Staff are rude and keep looking up to the sky sarcastically when anyone complains.

There are shocking mistakes in the wheelchair accessible rooms that they are just not interested in fixing.
The room has two green lights and a red light on all night making sleep almost impossible.

The green lights are just inn accessible rooms so are discrimination in action. If you use a wheelchair you are made to sleep with the room brightly illuminated in green.

When I complained they said they would cover them but they were never covered.

The accessible car spaces they just let anyone park in and I just get told they can't do anything about it.

I hate hotels that just can't be bothered with their guests in face their customers seem to be an absolute nuisance.

Not one of the issues raised have been taken seriously. The shower is a joke for an accessible room you can't even lower it. The mirror is way to high and the soap is way out of reach and the tiny baby sink has no sink. I've been made to feel just an unwelcome intruder in this place.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHendry, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Mr Duffy for your review, and whilst we acknowledge there are things we can improve on and value your constructive feedback, it is disappointing you were unable to mention any of the positive points about the hotel, when we met.
It is great to see you have immediately rebooked to stay with us again, so we look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel has only recently opened and is an excellent addition to the choice of hotels in Sheffield. It has been converted from the old West Bar police station and there are numerous references to it's past in the hotel décor which is a nice touch. The hotel is located just on the edge of the city centre and so is only a couple of minutes walk to the shops and restaurants.

The bedrooms are a good size with ours having a very comfortable queen size bed and a decent sofa bed. There are plenty of plug sockets, including ones next to the bed which many hotels seem to lack! The bathroom had a good shower and space next to the sink to put a washbag (again, something which is often lacking in many hotels). Overall the design of the rooms was good, very modern and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a fairly standard buffet selection of hot and cold items. There is an adjoining Marco Pierre White restaurant to the hotel which serves American-Italian cuisine and this is also highly recommended!!

The staff were all very friendly and check in/out was efficient. WiFi is free and a decent speed which was excellent. There is car parking available for £6/day which is very reasonably priced for a city centre hotel.

I will certainly use this hotel again when staying in Sheffield.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your very thorough review of our Hotel. I'm pleased you managed to capture the link the link between the buildings former history and what we have now become, it was important for us to retain that link as the building was iconic within the city. Our rooms are well designed, from the power points next to a bed through to spacious bathrooms the Hampton brand really does deliver a quality product. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel has only recently been opened. It was immaculate. The room was a good six=ze and the beds unbelievably comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast,(which we weren't expecting for some reason) was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking time to review Hampton Sheffield. I am delighted you found our Hotel to be "Immaculate" and that your stay here matched and even perhaps exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I first stayed at the Hampton in it's second week of being open. The staff are friendly and professional, making regular stayers feel right at home.
The rooms are well laid out, and some are unexpectedly large.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room, a phone, new iron and ironing board, and really nice shampoo, conditioner,and body wash in the roomy shower; a little less to pack! Lovely fluffy towels, tissues, hand wash and moisturiser - I can't fault it.
The TV has a good range of channels and it's a decent sized screen too.
I have tried the bar food and can highly recommend the crumble and ice cream!
The breakfast area has a large choice of foods.. fresh juices, coffee, tea, cereals, white/brown bread for toasting with lots of toast toppings, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, potato rosti, beans, croissant, muffins.. all freshly made and tasty. Be careful with the trays though, they're not 'grippy' and plates slide around on them. There's a bar with a good range of drinks, and nice seating area with TVs dotted around.
For me, the best thing is the balance of value with the fantastic staff I find at most Hilton hotels. I'll happily continue to use the Hampton as my regular accommodation when in Sheffield, and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: (No pool or room service so not rated.) Get a room away from the lifts; they tend to be quieter. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your very thorough and great review of our Hotel. It really is fantastic when our guests take time to review their stay with us, especially in such detail. I'm really happy you have sampled our Hampton menu, although it is a snack menu we have had some great feedback regarding the quality of the dishes. Our team really do make the Hotel shine and your comment of "fantastic staff" is testament to the work ethic and drive they have, I'll be sure to pass the message on. We hope to see you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlestown
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Difficult to fault this hotel. With it being newly opened everything is obviously in A1 condition, and the staff are super keen. The rooms are spacious, and the beds very comfortable, the free wi-fi is most welcome, and other chains really need to take note - YOU DON'T NEED TO RIP YOUR CUSTOMERS OFF BY CHARGING FOR WI-FI. Hampton by Hilton have raised the bar in budget hotels.

My only slight gripe is that the breakfast dining area was a little crowded - btw the buffet breakfast is the best I have ever had in a budget hotel.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The beds in the twin rooms are bigger than a standard single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your fantastic review of our Hotel. It's great when our guests acknowledge our team and your description of "super keen" is tremendous to read, i'll be sure to pass on your feedback. You also raised a great point about our twin bedrooms, we have 3/4 doubles in our twin rooms so they are bigger than just the standard single. Thank you for choosing Hampton Sheffield and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at The Hampton by Hilton last weekend, we had 6 rooms for a uni reunion for which we paid £76 each including breakfast. The value for money is excellent.

Parking: I was a bit weary about the parking as the hotel states it has 'limited' parking but we found car parking for all 6 vehicles in the hotel car park without any problems.

Check in: The check in was friendly and efficient. The reception area is bright and spacious and welcoming.

The room: Our rooms were all very spacious, surprising for an inner city hotel. All nicely decorated, comfortable bed with nice pillows (I hate when hotels are stingy with pillows!) and the bathroom is big, nicely decorated and has shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and nice fluffy towels. The shower was huge and nicely powerful.

Breakfast: Breakfast was fine, lots and lots of choice including cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, pastries, juices etc. I liked that they also provide take away cups so that you can take a coffee with you afterwards. The cooked food certainly isn't the best I've ever eaten, its that standard chain hotel standard of sausage etc and could be improved. But I've certainly had worse too. Its just fine.

The location: I have read some reviews with people comparing the exterior of the building to, for example, prisoner cell block H. This is the industrial city of Sheffield and with the exception of the new, ultra modern buildings, most of the city does consist of rather dreary looking industrial buildings so it is to be expected. But I assume that most people don't visit the centre of Sheffield for the views! The location is good for easy access to most of Sheffield, being a 3-4 minute walk to West Street (uphill mind so prepare the legs) where there are bars and restaurants and the tram lines, you can access the full amenities of the city centre without hassle. To walk to the train and bus station is a bit further as these are on the other side of the town centre (approx 10-15 mins walk), but it is perfectly do-able if you dont mind a little walk. There are plenty of taxis about the place too and reception are keen to help with this.

Overall I would definitely stay here again. When looking for a hotel this is one of the cheaper options and is well worth the money. Sure its not as pretty from the outside as some of the others but that aside, I find nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi, Wow, what a great review and very thorough. Thank you! It's great when we hear feedback on different parts of the Hotel and you've mentioned some great things like our Bathrooms, on site parking and even the opportunity to have a take away breakfast. I'm delighted you felt you had excellent value for money, with FREE WiFi and included breakfast we certainly are ahead of the pack in Sheffield. The building is the former Police HQ and rather than destoy a famous landmark in Sheffield we decided to keep the history and heritage of the building and re-furbish it which has created a vibrant, modern and very comfortable new Hotel. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton By Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Sheffield

Address: West Bar Green, Sheffield S1 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton By Hilton Sheffield 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton By Hilton Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.