We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially Yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Whitley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Whitley Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elliott Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennines
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel in gorgeous grounds with very friendly peacocks. The staff are also friendly and welcoming without being too over the top. The first time we stayed in Room 5 in the older part of hotel and it was so comfortable. Complimentary port on arrival and as we'd booked the great value for money we got a decent bottle of rose fizz. The food is totally scrumptuous and there is a fair choice of wines though they tend to be a the higher price range .
As we had such a great time we stayed again this time in the newer block where it is just as comfortable and cosy. A perfect romantic retreat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    122
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
88
275
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

What a hidden gem. This hotel is a little off the beaten track, but well worth hunting down. My wife and I stayed here as a stopover on the way back home from London, and chose it on the basis of reviews on this site. Thanks to every one whose reviews we read, because it was one of the nicest stays that we have had. The moment you step into the reception area is a step back in time to a luxurious country house. The room we stayed in (18) was large and comfortable, with facilities including iron and ironing board, Tv with free satellite channels, tea and coffee (with teapot!), and a complimentary decanter of port. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent, efficient and friendly. Bar prices are reasonable, and the restaurant was £21 for 2 courses, and £25 for 3 courses. The food was good, slightly nouvelle cuisine, but tasty and filling. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. As I write this, my brother and his fiancee have just booked a room for a stopover on the return from their honeymoon, and were immediately given a free upgrade to a four poster room. Exactly the sort of reception you would hope to receive at a quality hotel.
P.S We found the hotel easily after consulting Google maps.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. It did not disappoint. A beautiful old house which has a modern extension in lovely grounds. A great package again including dinner bed breakfast and a bottle of rose sparkling wine. This time we stayed in the new part which was great. The room had a huge double bed with quality linen - all details excellent. Bathroom clean with good shower and bath. Good buzz around the dining room - this hotel is used a lot for weddings but this didnt detract from the quality staff etc. Wine is pricey. Overall a great stay and we will return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

booked through lastminute as hotel stated that the romantic £99 dinner, bed and breakfast deal wasn't available. don't be put off its worth the endeavour. Efficient and ample staff throughout stay. Food was excellent, from starter to next morning breakfast. Great hideaway for those wanting privacy. Rooms decorated to the high standard and the rose champange and port was available as stated in the offer and was awaiting in the room.
Down to gripes and to be fair when i say gripes its probably knit-picking!! Rooms have no air con and the lushous thick duvets on a mild evening left us feeling rather warm and uncomfortable. However the rooms patio doors and having swung wide open to reveal the external building lighting. The 5am bin men and the 6am bottle bank lorry wouldn't deter us from returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel must be the best in the Sheffield area. The bedroom was roomy, well equip, comfortable and relaxing. Decorated to a high standard in all areas. The staff were clearly under pressure with wedding guests but we were still treated with efficent staff/service and good manners. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and enjoyed by both of us. Still stuffed the following morning we could not resist the temptation of breakfast. A good alround hotel in a just out of town location (10mins by car) but convenient for meadowhall where we went shopping and for central Sheffield. Looking forward to coming back asap. :) :) ps. the website is great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Don't rely on google maps - it placed this hotel on the wrong side of the motor way on Elliot road rather than Elliot lane. Reception staff were great- let me use their reception internet to find location of friends house (NB google map issue). Room was luxurous, bath huge- with air spa. Breakfast - Yum. We had a four poster bed! We were very pleased and would readily go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The wedding ceremony was excellent in all aspects.Beautiful location and the food was first class.We really had a great day which was marred by one thing.I found the bar prices to be so over priced as to be almost extortionate and do not bear comparison with other hotels in the area.Attending a wedding is an expensive occasion,having to pay so much for drinks took the edge offf the day for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliott Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.