We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic time at Whitley Hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitley Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whitley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Whitley Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elliott Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Herts, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Romantic time at Whitley Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I visited Whitley Hall for 2 nights Monday 17th and Tuesday 18th Feb. It was just amazing!
The hotel was perfect for a romantic getaway. The service was excellent, the food totally amazing, room very spacious and clean. We booked two nights on the romantic getaway deal and it was outstanding value. for £55 per person it included glass of port on arrival, bottle of rosé both nights, £35 voucher off evening meals plus B&B. The breakfast was perfect. I recommend afternoon tea.
We really cannot fault our visit it was just perfect. I did however come away half a stone heavier!! I do however wish it had a spa facility.

Room Tip: Room 18 was stunning and nicely tucked away in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We're really glad that you enjoyed your break at Whitley Hall Hotel and we'll be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Romantic Breaks are available all year round!

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    106
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
79
212
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a lovely one night "romantic break" at the hotel. The room was small but nice; the staff friendly and helpful and the food and drink delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and hope to visit again in the future. It was also extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Whitley Hall and will be sure to let our staff know your nice comments.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future, our Romantic Breaks are available throughout the year, Secret Sundays are great value too!

Best wishes

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasitgoodornot
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After reading such fantastic reviews we booked the hotel with a Deluxe Room. We arrived early and the hotel looked beautiful. The girl in reception was very friendly gave us our key to room 34 and we went back outside and to the annex to room 34 which we found out to be a disabled room. The bath room was a wet room with disabled fittings, chair etc. The sink came just above my knees. Not conducive for a romantic night away. I went to reception to say I was not happy and told that the hotel was full due to 2 weddings. I explained that we booked a deluxe room and told that this was the last room available when we booked. Nowhere did it say Deluxe disabled. Even the premier inn tells you it is disabled if that is all that is available. We went for tea and the nice girl came in and said we could have another room but it might be noisy as it would be above the disco.
By this time reception was full of wedding guest sitting and leaning on reception so moving seemed impossible. We had booked for dinner and went down at 7.45 but there were no seats in the drawing room so we were escorted to the bar which at that time was full of the wedding party with a back noise of boom boom boom. In fairness the wedding guests were asked to use their own bar but this was all really distracting. On a good note, the service from the bar and restaurant was fantastic. Dinner was good but we made a hasty retreat back to the room to listen to the noise from the other wedding. Relief...check out! The young lady at reception did not have a clue what she was doing. She presented us with the bill with the room on it. We said we had paid over the Internet with a balance of just £35,. She just stared at us. My husband said he had the confirmation on his phone and she asked for it.....He asked her as the hotel had sent it why she could not check on her system. she did not really seem to care. we are yet to check with the bank how much they did take.

This is a beautiful Hotel for weddings or I would imagine mid week Hotel rooms. Avoid weekends as you will maybe feel like an uninvited guest to one of the many weddings. Such a shame and spoilt our weekend as we had travelled such a long way.

Room Tip: Make sure if you want a deluxe room that is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel. We are naturally disappointed that your experience fell below your expectations.

We are legally bound to provide disabled facilities, the room is of exceptional quality and does feature a wet room rather than a bathroom. The sink in the room is ten centimetres below the standard sink height, accessible for a wheelchair users yet sufficient for all guests. We’re sorry that you were not informed at the time of booking that your allocated bedroom was an easy access room.

The receptionist that dealt with your check-out was in training and we are sorry that your experience was below standard. It's worth noting that your reservation was made via a third party website rather than our own hence the receptionist asking to view confirmation on your phone.

Please accept our apologies again for your discontent if you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me,

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here recently after looking around the internet for a deal for a one nights stay away.
This place and its own website caught our eye.

They seem to offer deals at certain times of the year.
We took a DBB offer in a better room that came with a bottle of pink Pinot Grigio fizz as well.
The wine was in our room on arrival.
The room was lovely, we had views over the car park and the lake as we were in one of the corner rooms featured on the website photos.
Our room was in the main original part of the hotel, it was clean and comfy.
The towels and robes were of good quality.

We went down for a drink before dinner and looked through the menus in the cosy bar area.
The restaurant was not that busy on the midweek evening we were there.
The choice was good, and my food was quite good and presented nicely.
The service was on the ball and all staff serving that evening were great.
I can not say this was dining at its best as it was not, it was good enough but maybe not for the prices charged though.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

The total bill for the one night which included a bottle of wine at the table (£35) and two small bottled beers (£4.50 each) was just over £200, the deal we were on had a set food allowance for the evening meal.
i actually thought that the price was too much for this hotel, you can go to Yorkshires top rated hotel for that price.

I found all but one staff very good.
On checking in and out I had the same young lady.
She was not bothered about chatting at all to me when booking in, and on checking out I was not asked if everything had been ok or even said goodbye to as she prefered to chat to another member of staff on the walkie talkie instead, she instigated the chat with him as well,so it could have waited.
When I have just handed over £200 I expect more really.
Little things....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Have just returned from a stay a Whitley Hall Hotel, feeling very disappointed.
On booking over the phone, we were assured that our ‘de-luxe’ room would have a lake view. It did not, but instead overlooked the car park. Not a great start, though the room itself was perfectly fine and well-equipped, if a little cluttered.
Our main disappointment was the food, of which we’d expected great things. My starter was a dreary solid lump of cold goats’ cheese, over-filled with pink peppercorns. The main course of beef fillet was delicious, but comprised three thin 50p-sized discs of meat accompanied by just two Brussels sprouts. I’m not a big eater but even for me this was insubstantial to say the least. Side dishes were brought and we anticipated the ‘missing’ vegetables only to get a potato gratin…
It is such a shame that this attractive, characterful building, with its lovely gardens, managed to so under-deliver.
The staff tried to address some of our our concerns but came across as over-busy and rules-bound.
I would have preferred to make the above comments direct to the hotel management via a customer feedback form but there was nothing like this in the guest rooms.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade R, Business Development Manager at Whitley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review Whitley Hall Hotel. We are of course very disappointed to read of your experience whilst staying with us.

All of our bedrooms contain a customer feedback form as well as a personal greeting card from our General Manager, Angela Tunnard, who was present the morning of your departure. It is normal practice to send an electronic feedback form to residents following check-out however our survey provider had technical difficulties that weekend. We apologise for this.

We are saddened to read that you were dissatisfied with your evening meal. We served a five course meal in addition to pre-dinner canapés, and with this in mind our portions sizes were adjusted accordingly, we are sorry that you feel that they were insufficient.

Staff at Whitley Hall Hotel are encouraged to make decisions, relying on the duty manager, who is available 24 hours a day. for support when required. On your arrival we offered an early check in to a member of your party, on a complimentary basis. This normally incurs a charge of £30. We made this gesture in goodwill and believe that this shows that our staff are not rule bound.

We are sorry that you feel that you did not get the chance to express your concerns to a member of the management team during your stay, however when asked how your stay had been by our Head Receptionist during check-out you did not raise any grievance. At this point we would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your visit.

We are really disappointed to receive reviews such as this and the similar review that another member of your party have posted - we hope that we have the opportunity to discuss this further with you and to welcome you back to Whitley Hall Hotel in the future to show you what we are really about.

Kind regards

Jade Ridley
Business Development Manager
Whitley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, freshly cooked breakfast,delicious evening meal - every member of staff attentive, friendly and helpful - nothing ever too much for them, Brilliant! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the original building-lovely view over the courtyard. My parents stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went to this hotel with my husband for a valentines night. Food was gorgeous, room lovely, very clean, staff very polite and courteous and couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely go back again. Little bit overpriced but was expected. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitley Hall Hotel

Address: Elliott Lane | Grenoside, Sheffield S35 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The hotel has recently benefitted from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Whitley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitley Hall Sheffield
Hotel Whitley Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.