We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great South Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maveli, Sheffield

Maveli, Sheffield
223 | Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2GW, England
+44 114 276 6150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,080 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Sheffield City Centre's only authentic South Indian Restaurant where the food is freshly cooked on order. Enjoy the taste of succulent chicken, quail, lamb, fish ,prawns, calamari & egg dishes cooked in distinctive South Indian spices. Flavoursome vegetable dishes for those who love their veggies! Try delectable paper thin Dosas & Vadas (savoury doughnuts) drenched in South Indian style Chutneys & tangy Sambar. NOT UK's typical curry house fare! Find us on Glossop Rd ( end of West Street, at Sheffield Baths , Swim Inn Building ). Fully licensed Restaurant & Bar with a TAKE AWAY SERVICE too .Can cater for private events at home or other venues.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great South Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are slowly learning about South Indian food, mainly due to our forthcoming trip to Kerala. We had a great meal at Maveli, very fresh tasting with the subtle coconut flavours you would expect from an area where it is in plentiful supply. The food is a long way from the greasy and stodgy so called Indian restaurants that abound and it is clearly different. The appams were lovely and fresh (a million times better than a naan bread) great chicken mappas and the best dish, the yellow dal and I am no veggie, at £3.50 it was a steal.

We know the word curry is an English invention so if you want a curry maybe go elsewhere where Brits come first. If you want Indian food then come here and order something you might never have heard of. There was one European tweak, the Mango delish is one of the best creme brûlée's I've ever had. That's saying something in having had countless holidays in France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, Sheffield, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Absolutely right ! Kerala does indeed use a lot of coconut in her dishes as it just seems to grow wild in there . Their cooking uses coconut paste , coconut milk & even coconut oil ! The Chicken Mappas & Appam is typically Keralan & it has milder spices to bring out the flavour of the meat . Thanks for the fantastic comment . We would love to have you over again at Maveli . Hope you had a good time in Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    31
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
why, Derbyshire, of course.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After reading so many rave reviews on this place on here we just had to try it. Maybe we are harsh critics - but there were 6 of us in total - and we all came to the same conclusion.

Starters: the crispy fish tasted of no spices whatsoever. It reminded me a bit of those Bird's Eye things we used to have as kids. There was also a chicken dish, which was supposed to be spicy as well and it was also bland. In fact, it was very similar to the sweet and sour dishes you might get in a Chinese restaurant. It actually tasted more of ketchup than anything else.

For main course most of us had dosas. The rice pancakes were nicely cooked but the filling didn't have a lot of flavour in it and there wasn't much of it. The best dish was probably the nirgli green curry - that was quite tasty, although it had a rather odd glutinous appearance to it, but it tasted nice to be fair. The breads were probably the highlight, but at £4.50 for one (the potato stuffed one) you might expect them to be good perhaps?

On the plus side, it is a pleasant place to sit and dine. They've done a nice job of the decor and ambience - and when you consider that your only other South Indian options in Sheffield are the small and extremely cramped, East and West, or the scruffy looking hole that is Dhanisthas, then I can see why you might prefer this.

But, for those who, up until now, "Indian" food meant only one thing, this introduction to a rather mild and bland version of South Indian food will be a small revelation perhaps.

Personally, we wouldn't rush back. It didn't live up to the hype that it has somehow created on here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, Sheffield, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are sorry we did not meet up to expectations . The Fried Fish and the Andhra Chilly Chicken are mildly spiced starters enjoyed by children as well as adults. Dosas are made differently using different ingredients for the pancake base . For the typical Masala Dosa ( with the potato filling) , the amount of stuffing will be much lesser in proportion to the size of the Dosa (the pancake only ) itself. The taste ultimately depends on the accompaniments- Sambar , Coconut Chutney & Tomato Chutney . Again, spice levels will change according to the region the dish comes from. Keralan food is extremely mildly spiced,but food from Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh can be terribly pungent in it's authentic form. We try to find a middle path to suit all our guests ! Thank you for writing about us . We would be pleased to have you again & we shall do a better job this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went in a party of four for a meal midweek. The menu is VERY different from a northern indian restaurant - which was a selling point as we were excited at the prospect of trying something new.
The menu is very coconut orientated, probably as close to Thai as it is to northern Indian. There is no tandor so no tandori of any kind and no nan bread.

We all tried different dishes which were ok but not great. We tried 4 different breads which were very different, the paratha was more mainstream but the other 3 were very different and came with mashed potato but we struggled a bit to know how to eat it and whihc bread came with what. A little more help and guidance from the staff would have been welcomed.

The staff were very pleasant and polite but more reserved than I'm used to. Given that most people won't be used to the southern indian style can I suggest that a more 'involved' approach is taken.

The food was presented very nicely and was cooked well. At the end of the day i can't fault the meal but just prefer the northern indian taste and tandori/nan breads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, Sheffield, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Apologies that the service did not meet your expectation . We have spoken to the staff & told them to be a bit more informative about the food ...especially as a lot of people may not be familiar with it. North Indian food is cooked in clarified butter (ghee) with onions , tomatoes & ginger garlic paste as a base for it's cuisine.The South does tend to use Coconut a lot along with Dry Red Chillies , Black Pepper , Tamarind & Curry Leaves . We are sorry that this style of food did not appeal as much as the typical North Indian cooking. Hope you visit us again & we shall try to convince you about the goodness of the South too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to Sheffield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went on the recommendations from tripadvisor and were really impressed by the food. Its South Indian so a bit different to your bog standard curry and a few dishes quite a bit hotter. It's so much more interesting than normal curry though and the vegetarian dishes are really varied. All the portions are very generous and for the amount we ate and all drinks it was still only £30 for both of us, and we over ordered. West Street seems a strange location for this restaurant, you'd expect to find it in a smaller venue on London Road. Great that its so accessible in the centre of town.

If you've been to Dhanistas it's essentially as good or better food, but with really speedy service and quite a bit cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, Sheffield, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for writing in about us . South India uses ingredients indigenous to the region, so the cooking style & even South Indian breads are different the standard 'Naans' (also delicious) that are so popular in the UK. We are happy that you had a good time at Maveli & even more importantly ...that you liked the price!!! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE best Indian food I've EVER had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Okay, I'm not a seasoned traveller who has been to the east but I've eaten in a lot of Indian restaurants throughout the country, and this place is amazing! the food is wonderful.
We were a party of 3 and had 2 lots of poppadoms, 2 starters, 3 mains, with chapattis, parotta and poori. Each dish was superb. Individually prepared with wonderful flavours that were so fresh and clean. I've had similar food before in other places but really nothing like this.
We were so stuffed we only managed one dessert, gulab jamun, and two coffees. without drinks this was around £50! The service was understated, calm and faultless.
This place is such amazing value for the quality of the food and the service you receive for the money you pay.
GO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherian2013, Owner at Maveli, Sheffield, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are really happy that you had a great time with your friends at Maveli . The chappatis , parottas & pooris are made on the spot , so that it's nice & warm when it reaches you . It was a pleasure having you over at Maveli . Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for writing about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maveli, Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Maveli, Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maveli, Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.