We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Choola

Urban Choola
272 London Road, Sheffield, England
44 114 250 8880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Urban Choola serves actual Indian food as opposed to the Kasmiri Faye you get in many "Indian" restaurant so its a great place to go if you've had enough of Kormas.

We chose to have thalis which if you've not had one before is a bit like a selection box of sauces, side dishes and even a sweet along side a main curry dish and naan. It all comes on a wooden tray with the smaller dishes in little metal pots.

The curries we had (lamb Karahi and Chicken chettinadh) were delicious. The flavours were really deep and interesting and different to any curries we'd eaten before.

The naan was so lovely and light, not like the huge doughy things you sometimes get and if was lovely to have all those different mini dishes to dip it in.

And a thali is a complete meal: Starter, main, side and dessert so priced at around a tenner each they're really good value.

It's also BYO which is alway a bonus and it's a lovely small, intimate little restaurant with really friendly staff.

We'll definitely be going again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The werst indian i have had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

U have to wait for a long time to order and when the food came it was like mico bad food wont bé. Going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very similar format to Amigo's - BYO, excellent food and great value for money. Many of the dishes were new to the four of us so we gave the waiter a budget and he brought us a selection of four starters, four mains and a couple of desserts to share. All the food was delicious and freshly prepared. Fantastic value for money (£50 for the four of us)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had a takeaway one night but ate in a different evening and it is definitely worth eating in as they have more choice on the menu and there are so many amazing dishes worth trying! The food is full of flavour, unique and much more authentic than all the other Indian restaurants around.

Lived up to Amigo's standard!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valras-Plage, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am a big fan of Indians, but in the last few years have become extremely picky! I always read reviews before going out for a curry, to make sure that I get something half decent! Having been to India a couple of times I know that the typical Kormas and Tikka Masalas are awful compared to real Indian food.

We decided to go to Urban Choola for lunch over Easter, as there was little else open before 5pm. And, luckily, I was not disappointed!

The restaurant, with its simple decor, is inviting and open. Some interesting artwork features!

The food has just enough spice, was clearly fresh and authentic and the portions were generous. My other half went as far as to say it was his "best Indian ever", though he does sometimes tend to get a bit overexcited. He chose a chicken dish (the name escapes me!) and it was delicious. The naan breads, which can often be stodgy, were gorgeously light. In addition, the strawberry lassi was gorgeous.
I would however recommend ordering an extra rice if you choose a dish that already comes with it. The portion isn't enough for someone who really enjoys their pilau!

For 2 x mains, 2 x rice, 2 x naan breads, 1 coffee and 1 lassi, it totaled just £20. Thought there was a mistake at first!

Next time I'm in Sheffield I will definitely be going back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Choola also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Urban Choola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Choola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.