We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food for not much money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropeiro Sheffield

Tropeiro Sheffield
7 Leopold Square, Sheffield S1 2JG, England
0114 273 9399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tropeiro is a Brazilian Restaurant based on a “Rodizio” conceptIn Brazil we take the simplest idea of combining wonderfully seasoned meat and flames, with skill and patience in order to capture the meat´s individual flavours.These mouth-watering meats are cooked on an open fire and carved at the tableside. With each of the different cuts offering a unique and succulent experience, you just can’t help but indulge yourself.Each bite is freshly carved slice of meat with sealed in juices and flavours, a transcendent experience.Our menu offers up to ten different cuts of meat – beef, pork, lamb, chicken and a sumptuous buffet of gourmet salads, fresh-cut vegetables and a variety of side dishes.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of food for not much money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've only been here for lunch on the £11 or so 5 meat option deal. You get all you can eat meats and food / salad bar with only 5 meats to choose from. If I remember correctly you get 2 kinds of beef (skirt and brisket), chicken thigh, sausage and pork ribs.

The meat is of average quality but there's loads of it. If you aren't picky at all and love meat then you can really get your money's worth at lunch. The dinner looks much more expensive and I honestly don't think it would be worth it. The brisket is the best thing on the lunch menu so stock up on that when it comes round.

The Brazilian pork and beans stew "Feijoada" I believe (it's in an urn on the counter) is really excellent. That with some rice and some of the meats is all you need really. Also this yellow corn-meal like seasoning is amazing too. If you go back and have this 3 times with all the meat they offer you it's crazy good value for £11. If you aren't into meat or Brazilian cooking then steer clear.

I'll definitely be back soon for more - after not eating for 2 days in advance of course.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    35
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Super fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

It was my first visit and i can say i will definitely be going back. I went for the lunch time menu just to try it out first and i was very impressed the meat was so nice and juicy they came a round plenty of times offering us meat.
The service was fab they explained every thing to us so we knew what to do.
To finish off we were offered some roasted pineapple with cinnamon and sugar on it was to die for i could have eaten the whole pineapple.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dismal - over cooked rubbery meat (unless you're not fussy)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I don't like to give bad reviews but the food and service were both really poor. We called in for lunch on Sunday - we thought it would be a change, read the menu outside - it seemed different to a normal steak restaurant.
When we got upstairs we were struck by the lack of atmosphere straight away - loud and echoey - people seemed to be shouting conversations to one another. However, we carried on and took our seats, had the concept explained to us and ordered our dinks - there's a set menu of 5 different meats that the waiters will keep bringing round to serve until you turn your card over form green to red so that they know to stop! There is also a salad bar with warm and cold salads/chilli/rice
There was what seemed to be a large party of around 30 people sitting together (although they were all arriving and leaving at different times) and one of the waiters told us they were short staffed that day. So, the food didn't come around very quickly or very often, but when it did, the meat was not great quality and was over cooked and quite rubbery.
We decided to put it down to experience, eat up and leave - it wasn't over expensive £13 per head but you could definitely get a far better meal for your money!
We asked for our bill which didn't appear as the waiters were all running around after the large party. We had to get up, put our coats on and hover at the bar for someone to come and take our money
Shame - good idea but badly executed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I don't understand the bad reviews about this place.
Great service, great food, more than you can eat. We were even given a complementary sharing chocolate fondu as we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary as the very attentive but unobtrusive staff were talking to us. The staff bringing the endless supply of meat around were almost constant, you took a slice or a piece depending on size of the meat and helped yourself to a very well stocked salad and hot food bar.
We were recommended a bottle of wine which was fabulous and reasonable (£20 for a Sauvignon Blanc) for a restaurant.
As a touch of balance and fairness we got there at around 6pm to eat and it was quiet. As we left at 7.30pm ish it was starting to fill up and the serving staff looked more than in control, the meat was almost a constant flow with several types coming out at the same time, visiting all tables. Sadly I had to refuse a serving twice as I was stuffed.
The concept and execution of this place is excellent and my wife and I can't wait to visit again.
Thank you for an excellent night and meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I enjoyed the visit. The food was great and although the restaurant was busy (we arrived around 8.30pm on a Saturday night without a reservation), we were accommodated and we weren't rushed. But unless you are starving it is difficult to eat enough to make it "good value".

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropeiro Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropeiro Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropeiro Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.