We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and very tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
97-99 Chesterfield Road, Sheffield S8 0RN, England
+44 114 258 0142
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Ice Cream in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: French, English, Middle Eastern, Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Different and very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food here is not your run of the mill sandwich with fries, its fantastic. Catering for veggies and non veggies. I've visited a couple of times and not been disappointed

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, uk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I cannot believe some of the reviews for this restaurant / cafe. We visited and had a lovely relaxed and friendly time. to top it off the food was excellent. We have passed a number of times and were finally tempted in by the groupon offer which gave us great value.
The person who served us was open, attentive and very friendly.
We ate the combinations starter which is a mix of all sorts of tasty morsels and the mixed seafood risotto. The risotto was a very pleasant surprise as it is presumably a turlkish version with more liquid and lots of spices and it was delicious.
Please try this place if you are in the area, as they deserve to succeed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Why isn't this place more highly rated?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Super food and great value. This is only a cafe, not a restuarant but some of the food here is as good as anything I've tasted on travels to Turkey and the Middle East.

Yes the food is not purely Turkish (there are some north african elements to the food, which is perhaps where the French name comes but more importantly some heavy Levantine and Arabic influences), but I don't see the problem with that.

The shawarma is particularly good and the shawarma wraps are almost ridiculously good value.

This cafe is always pretty busy when we are there so perhaps people on here are submitting poor reviews to try to keep this little gem of an eaterie all to themselves!! (Ooops, maybe I've given the game away with this review!!).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting flavours and far from expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Been here many times, but just for a wrap and a coffee when I am in the area shopping. Went this week for an evening meal, and I shall be back! The owner came into his own when serving at table, and was friendly and attentive. When I have seen him behind the counter in the day he seems less approachable? The food was beautiful, and the variety of drinks available was good. They do not like you to drink alcohol on their premises, and although will allow people to bring their own (and their own bottle opener and glasses) this isnt really welcomed, and so bear this in mind and have a look through their extensive drinks menu! Strawberry iced tea with frozen strawberries and fresh mint tea went down very well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The perfect place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a excellent meal last night and all in all the four of us had a great time,Steve is one of the host I have known and the food and coffee are second to non.My wife and I are always looking forward to going there no matter who we take there never disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Des Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.