We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely anniversary meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkuaz Bar & Grill

Turkuaz Bar & Grill
First floor, 178-184 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LT, England
+44 114 258 2255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 1,080 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Turkuaz Bar & Grill is a welcoming open plan restaurant, serving traditional Turkish meals cooked on an open grill. It also boasts a separate bar/lounge area with 2 pool tables, football table, bandits, a big screen TV and upstairs smoking area.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lovely atmosphere and decoration. Food was gorgeous especially the turkuaz special chicken wrap, gorgeous! Was a little disappointed hat my husbands main didn't arrive served on a bed of bread like described in the menu (but he was full up anyway so wouldn't let me ask about it). We're big eaters but two starters to share with the olives and bread and a main each filled us up nicely. Free bottle of rose as we ordered 2 starters and 2 mains was nice. Service left a little to be desired, we had to work quite hard to get their attention to order another beer and there was a very warm welcome when we arrived. We were left with our starters and so or main for quite some time however this suited us as we weren't in a rush. Would definitely recommend and go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“I left hungry. Don't go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I ordered a lamb kabob plate #22. It was so small I finished in under 5 min. Nothing special as far as taste and definitely not worth the money. Go to Efes. They have good portions better tasting food, and you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just an average Turkish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I came here with high hopes! But turned out to be just an ordinary meal! Not the best tasting experience. But the service was excellent! Food was disappointing..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Real Taste of Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited on a whim Saturday night - managed to get a table at 2000 - the place was full - always a good sign. 1st task finding the restaurant - entrance is down a side alley next to Ozman's Supermarket and a car lot, directly opposite the Cremorne Pub (good real ale and draft cider as a pre-restaurant drink).
Really friendly greeting - used our best holiday Turkish only to find the waiter was from Rotherham albeit of Turkish decent - the other Latvian - hey still friendly.
Starters we opted for for 3 off the Meze choice, a wonderfully creamy mix of cucumber, yogurt and garlic called Cacik, Arnavut Cigeri - chopped lambs livers on red onions - very tender and sweet and Borek - crispy pastry filled with feta cheese and parsley - could have done with more cheese - but still very good. Complimentary olives and bread.
Good choice - washed down with a bottle of Argentinian Red

Mains - there was a 45 min wait for these but as the place was packed understandable i went for the Mixed Skewer - mixed lamb kofta (spicy and well cooked), lamb fillet - tender and very lean, chicken fillet, chicken wings and a lamb chop served with rice and salad. Er' in Doors went for the Chicken Skewer (Tavuk Shish) - marinated chicken breasts - can't give you any feedback on this as she scoffed the lot - so had to be good - we also opted for another plate of the Cacik as it was so good.

The restaurant itself is 1st floor overlooking London Road and the skyline beyond, great big arched windows let in plenty of light, spacious placing of tables so that you aren't sat on each other and an open kitchen so that you can see the food being cooked - full bar etc.

Meal for 2 wine, drinks and tip £60 - very relaxed couldn't believe that it was 1030 before we left well worth a visit.

iyi akşamlar, çok teşekkür ederim (Thank you, good evening)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great first visit,Excellent staff,Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visited first time with family. Daughters birthday get together . Staff very welcoming and helpful. They go the extra mile to ensure a good experience. Food was great and a well done to the kitchen staff. Food was serve in good time. Entertainment was a good surprise and great. Place is clean and tidy. Easy to find parking and access the restaurant. As the cooking is done in a open kitchen it gave good impression of confidence in standard. All Staffs had a smile and were more than happy to help. Will certainly recommend to others and will be visit again to try other dishes. Thank you to all the team at Turkuaz bar & grill of London Road Sheffield.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkuaz Bar & Grill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Turkuaz Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkuaz Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.