We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkuaz Bar & Grill

Turkuaz Bar & Grill
First floor, 178-184 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LT, England
01142582255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,042 restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Turkuaz Bar & Grill is a welcoming open plan restaurant, serving traditional Turkish meals cooked on an open grill. It also boasts a seperate bar/lounge area with 2 pool tables, football table, bandits, a big screen TV and upstairs smoking area.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went yesterday at 4ish in the evening & we were the only customers (understandably b'cos of the odd time). Loved the freshly baked bread they served with the starter . Main course was grilled Chicken wings , lamb chops and an entire fish . These came along with a leafy salad ,some red cabbage & spiced rice . Everything tasted nice & fresh,though it would have been good to have less salad & more rice . The waiter was very attentive & took the trouble to show us the type of rice grain that was used. A good time was had by all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    116
    38
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading the other Tripadvisor reviews I was looking forward to visiting.

However the meze of dishes we had were poor. The Patlican Salatasi contained no aubergine and was a small plate of yoghurt and olive oil.

The service was poor and we were ignored except for when the food was brought to the table.

Unfortunately we won't be returning anytime soon as I think better quality food can be had at Efes and Zeguma.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food, a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The food is so fresh, you watch it being cooked over coals I have had a real variety and have always been really impressed. The traditional turkish dishes are fab and I would also really recommend the fish. It doesn't look like much when you approach as it's on the first floor above a grocer but its well worth the trip up the stairs. We have 3 young children who also love the food and the staff are freindly and accommodating, They even have a selection of hairsprays and deodorants in the loo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went here on September the 7th for my friend Jane Louise's 40th birthday.
The belly dancer was really good and the staff all joined in with the dancing.
The restaurant area looked really pretty too with little lit up trees in the window.
It was lots of fun and I will be returning soon.
Many thanks Lorraine Crooks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Well it was food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Quite tasteless swimming in fat. Don't think I'll go again. Looks nice from outlook but that's about all. And no one was actually in the restaurant it was empty

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkuaz Bar & Grill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Turkuaz Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkuaz Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.