We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Year !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turkuaz Bar & Grill

Turkuaz Bar & Grill
First floor, 178-184 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LT, England
01142582255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,040 restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Turkuaz Bar & Grill is a welcoming open plan restaurant, serving traditional Turkish meals cooked on an open grill. It also boasts a seperate bar/lounge area with 2 pool tables, football table, bandits, a big screen TV and upstairs smoking area.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A return visit to the restaurant was made on New Years Eve for my hubbys birthday with friends - GREAT NIGHT had by all - GREAT FOOD & FRIENDLY STAFF !!!!! We usually do the Dinner Dances and Balls but will definitely do this again thanks Turkuaz and staff for another FAB NIGHT !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    116
    38
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked a table for 2 on Saturday night 12/01/13 after deciding to have a change from zeugma a few doors down. I was warned upon booking that there was going to be a belly dancer as some people had complained about not been Told in advance. I can't understand people complaining as it created a great atmosphere everyone was up dancing and both me and my boyfriend agreed it made for a good night! We ordered from the set menu (any 3 starters and 2 mains for £29) much better value than zeugma. We had the grilled halloumi, Turkish sausage and the aubergine dip which wasn't to my taste but my boyfriend polished off the plate and I enjoyed the other 2. We had chicken skewer and lamb skewer for our mains, both tasted delicious and would definitely bring us back for another visit. We shared the mixed fruit cake for dessert which was also yummy. Overall it was a good night, we found the drinks a little pricey but the cheap food made up for that would recommend highly and will visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we know that most visitors on our website come from tripadvisor. We are really pleased you enjoyed your evening and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Turkuaz for my birthday and made up quite a large party. Often trying to organise such things is a bit of a nightmare, but from my initial enquiry, to the actual evening, the staff were fantastic and made the whole process hassle free. Upon arrival, the table was decorated and the staff were courteous but not overbearing. The atmosphere was superb and the belly dancer added to the entertainment without it seeming cheap and tacky. Out of a group of 27, not one person had a poor meal and many friends commented that they would love to come again. I would fully recommend Turkuaz as they provided a wonderful evening for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your party at Turkuaz. We are developing a new booking system for large parties to help you and the night go smoothly. This will also help with separate bills at the end of the night.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, fun night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I booked this restaurant for a Saturday night (05/01/13), and were pleased to have been allocated a large table by the window. The restaurant is located on the 1st floor, above a 24-hour international supermarket but don't let this put you off, as it is not really an issue. The staff were attentive but not overbearing. The manager, Huseyin, floats around the restaurant, taking orders when the other waitresses are busy, and is friendly and available if you need him. There is an open style kitchen, and the food we ordered arrived promptly and was good quality. The restaurant was very busy, with at least 4 birthday parties, including one table of 24 diners. Luckily, we ordered before this table, as their order took a lot longer to arrive, as you might expect. We were entertained by a Turkish belly dancer, and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was excellent. We left after 2 hours, having thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The bill came to only £46, including 2 starters + 2 mains, a bottle of wine, 1 Turkish coffee, and 2 complimentary sambucas. We were not sure what to expect, as we had not eaten Turkish food before, but were very pleased we chose this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are so please that you enjoyed your evening. The entrance needs improving and we do have a plan but would be interested in any customer ideas for improvement.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great night out, thanks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited as a large group (30+) and were dealt with incredibly well. We'd booked most of the food in advance (although adding extras at the time was no trouble) and the girl who dealt with this was a great help - organising who was having what.

We were sat by the grill/kitchen, which is amazing to watch, if a little warm! Food was all excellent, free olives. Service was steady, but we were a huge group so that's to be expected!

The staff were all great, happy, smiling and helpful. I'll agree with others on the decent toilets.

The dancer is great fun, I can see it maybe not working as part of a romantic meal for two - so it's wise that they now mention this when booking.

I certainly look forward to coming again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkuaz_Sheffield, Owner at Turkuaz Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review! We are so glad that you chose us for your party and even more pleased that you all enjoyed your evening.
We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkuaz Bar & Grill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Turkuaz Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkuaz Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.