We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tamarind
Glossop Road, Sheffield, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #756 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant has taken over from the Saffron Club. It is nowhere near as good and reviews for it are being added to the Saffron Club listing which seems unfair.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a Groupon deal which was good value for money. The food was excellent and we had an allowance towards the starter, main and dessert. Staff were very efficient and the only downside is we didn't have a choice of dessert - it was an icecream dish but it was fine. We could have paid any extra over the allowance. Drinks were quite expensive.
We would go back to the restaurant as it was busy and the atmosphere was good but mainly we enjoyed the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Admittedly a member of staff was off ill but only one person to take orders, staff the bar, serve meals and clear tables was not enough even on a very quiet Tuesday evening. Despite having a reservation we had to wait several minutes for a table to be cleared even though the place was almost empty, we weren't asked if we wanted drinks or poppadoms and after 20 minutes we were asked if we were ready to order. The waiter seemed surprised when we said we would like to order drinks! It was a while later before he returned to take our food order. The starters were nicely presented but not particularly good and our main courses were both disappointing. A yellow chicken tikka masalla?! Chicken rogan with more tomatoes than chicken?! Peshwari nan with very little coconut, no sultanas or almond flavour?! (Though it WAS very hot and very nicely cooked.) The ice cream was lovely as was the decor. We won't be returning.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I came here with a groupon deal but after looking at the menu it's very reasonably priced anyway. I had the Tamarind kebab to start which was delicious, so flavoursome. And can recommend the tikka sag and karahi. The service was spot on and the food was really good. They also offer a take out service and a few cheap student offers mid-week. We're quite spoilt in Sheffield with good indian restaurants and take outs but this is one of the best.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a cut above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

food was great - varied menu to choose from
good atmosphere in alight and airy environment conducive to conversation
staff extremely helpful - special meal cooked for one of our party with a food allergy

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.